Genre: Classical
Label: JVC
Additional Artists: Chicago Symphony Orchestra


Fritz Reiner Prokofieff & Stravinsky Lieutenant Kije & Song Of The Nightingale XRCD24

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Rare Promo! Warehouse Find! Long Out of Print!

The Absolute Sound 40th Anniversary Best Sounding Music!

Click Here for Sound Samples!

This Living Stereo Title features several compositions written by Prokofieff and Stravinsky. Includes Prokofieff’s piece “Lieutenant Kije”, originally written for a movie and Stravinsky’s “Song of the Nightingale”, written as a tribute to Hans Christian Anderson. Conduced by the legendary Fritz Reiner and performed by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra this release is an explosion of musical expression. Once you hear the sound and the quality of music that can be heard on this XRCD24 made by JVC, you’ll never want to listen to another Audiophile format again. Listen and Compare.

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Fritz Reiner, conductor

1. I. The Birth Of Kije
2. II. Romance
3. III. Kije's Wedding
4. IV. Troika
5. V. The Burial Of Kije
6. Presto
7. Chinese March
8. Song of the Nightingale
9. [The mechanical nightingale]
10. [The Emperor' displeasure at the department of the real nightingale]
11. [The Emperor's sickroom]
12. [The real nightingale returns to thwart Death]
13. [Funeral march and Finale]

Total Time: 42:50
Recorded November 3, 1956 (Song of the Nightingale) & March 2, 1957 (Prokofiev), Orchestra Hall, Chicago.

Customers Also Like