Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Alucard
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Gentle Giant Three Piece Suite 180g 2LP

Gentle Giant

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition 180g Double LP!
Selection Of Songs From First 3 Albums Remixed By Steven Wilson!
Includes Pre-Debut Bonus Track!

Following the highly successful releases of the Steven Wilson remixes of 'The Power And The Glory' and 'Octopus', Steven has now remixed a specially curated selection of songs and compositions from the band's first three albums (Giant, Acquiring the Taste, Three Friends) presented in stereo. Only a few songs from each of the band's first three albums are known to exist as multi-tracks, with the rest presumably lost, and it is these nine tracks - plus the previously unreleased pre-debut song 'Freedom's Child' - that have been remixed by Steven Wilson for this very special release.

'Three Piece Suite' includes the songs 'Giant', 'Nothing At All' and 'Why Not' from the first album 'Giant'; 'Pantagruel's Nativity', 'The House, The Street, The Room' from the second album 'Acquiring The Taste'; and 'Schooldays', 'Peel the Paint', 'Mr. Class And Quality' and 'Three Friends' from the album 'Three Friends'. The previously commercially unreleased song 'Freedom's Child' is from the first recording sessions with legendary producer Tony Visconti. The liner notes contain an essay by noted journalist Anil Prasad, in which Gentle Giant's members reflect upon the writing and recording sessions. Furthermore, Steven Wilson and Tony Visconti share their observations about the early days of this unique collection of timeless music from one of progressive rock's most influential bands.

Tony Visconti: "I was a very optimistic young man in 1970... I thought music like theirs would save the world from mediocrity. I couldn't wait to sink my teeth in it."

Steven Wilson: "There was never a question of trying to outdo the original mixes, but offer different perspectives on them."

This 180g pressing on double vinyl is housed in a gatefold sleeve containing the new Steven Wilson stereo mixes, plus Steven Wilson's 7" edit of 'Nothing At All' and Anil Prasad's essay on the band.

• Limited Edition
• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Steven Wilson Stereo Mixes
• Gatefold jacket
• Bonus Track (Steven Wilson 7" Edit of "Nothing At All")
• Anil Prasad's essay on the band

The Steven Wilson Remixes
Side A:

1. Giant
2. Nothing At All
Side B:
1. Why Not?
2. Pantagruel's Nativity
3. The House, The Street, The Room
Side C:
1. Schooldays
2. Peel The Paint
Side D:
1. Mister Class And Quality?
2. Three Friends
3. Freedom's Child
4. Nothing At All (Steven Wilson 7" Edit)

Customers Also Like