Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Capitol
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


George Harrison All Things Must Pass 180g Deluxe 5LP Box Set

George Harrison

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

50th Anniversary Deluxe 180g Vinyl 8LP Box Set!
New Mix By Grammy-Winner Paul Hicks!
2LPs Of Demos, Outtakes & Studio Jams!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 368/500!

In celebration of the 50th Anniversary, George Harrison's, All Things Must Pass, is being celebrated with a suite of new releases highlighted by a stunning new mix of the classic album by Grammy Award-winning mixer/engineer Paul Hicks, overseen by executive producer Dhani Harrison. The 5LP (180g) Deluxe Edition contains an all-new remix by Paul Hicks. Spread across 5 LPs, the first 3 LPs feature the main album followed by 2 LPs containing 17 tracks of demo recordings, session outtakes and studio jams. Includes 8-page insert with photos and notes from Dhani Harrison and Paul Hicks on remixing the album.

"All Things Must Pass had two big knocks against it right from day one. The first and foremost was Phil Spector's heavy-handed production, which featured his famous Wall of Sound. Basically, the technique entailed a lot of layering: of multiple instances of the same instrument (why have just one rhythm guitar when you can have five?); of horns and orchestras; of harmonies and background singers; and especially of reverb. The approach had served Spector will on his girl-group records from the early-60s, but it seemed overwhelming on All Things Must Pass. Indeed, on the full-blown tracks George himself seemed lost in the melee.

That's one symptom of the second, closely related problem: the album's atrocious sound quality. Spector's Wall was impenetrable, making it impossible to hear what was really going on. Instead of coalescing, all the musical elements clashed like a lesson in chaos theory. Two factors that might have helped anchor the sound, George's voice and a solid bass line, were both buried too deep in the mix.

No one, least of all George, who was quite vocal on the subject, doubted these failings. But what to do about it? Over the decades the album has undergone multiple remastering efforts, including one in 2001 overseen by Harrison himself. These reaped only minor improvements. The problems were too ingrained to be addressed by mere remastering.

Finally, in 2020, George's son Dhani joined forces with Giles Martin, son of Beatles producer George Martin and the man behind 50th anniversary editions of several Beatles albums. Their goal was to create nothing less than the All Things Must Pass that George had always wanted. To do so, they dug fearlessly into the original mix. There, they found the missing bass - and put it back in. They took George's vocals up several notches, restoring it to prominence. Where possible, they slashed reverb. In general, they remixed tracks in a way that allowed individual parts to speak both individually and as a coherent whole.

The result is a flat-out triumph that's spellbinding to listen to. Never before have we been able to hear everything going on in these dense recordings. Bass, now distinct and full-throated, is entirely transformed. In short, sonically speaking, none of its predecessors can compare to this 50th Anniversary Edition of All Things Must Pass.

That sonic clarity, in turn, allows for a rather surprising musical revelation. Abolish all the sludge fomented by Spector's overuse of reverb and too many overdubs on technically-limited equipment, and you are inescapably left with arrangements that truly enhance these songs. Spector's execution may have been suspect, but his concepts were fundamentally right on.

...Ironically, though this 50th Anniversary Edition of All Things Must Pass was prompted in part by a backlash to Spector's production work, the album may ultimately redeem his reputation. In any case, this new edition gives us, for the first time, all the superb songs of the original album paired with an exemplary recording and production as close as we'll ever get to the way George wanted it. The word 'significant' hardly seems sufficient to describe the achievement. Highly recommended." - Alan Taffel, The Absolute Sound, December 2021

a flat-out triumph that's spellbinding to listen to... this new edition gives us, for the first time, all the superb songs of the original album paired with an exemplary recording and production as close as we'll ever get to the way George wanted it. The word 'significant' hardly seems sufficient to describe the achievement. Highly recommended.
-Alan Taffel, The Absolute Sound


  • 50th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set
  • 5LP
  • 180g Vinyl
  • New Mix by Paul Hicks
  • Overseen by Executive Producer Dhani Harrison
  • 17 Demos, Session Outtakes & Studio Jams
  • 8-Page Insert - Photos & Notes from Dhani Harrison & Paul Hicks
  • Made in Czech Republic


All Things Must Pass

Side 1:
  1. I'd Have You Anytime
  2. My Sweet Lord
  3. Wah-Wah
  4. Isn't It A Pity (Version One)
Side 2:
  1. What Is Life
  2. If Not For You
  3. Behind That Locked Door
  4. Let It Down
  5. Run Of The Mill
Side 3:
  1. Beware Of Darkness
  2. Apple Scruffs
  3. Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
  4. Awaiting On You All
  5. All Things Must Pass
Side 4:
  1. I Dig Love
  2. Art Of Dying
  3. Isn't It A Pity (Version Two)
  4. Hear Me Lord
Side 5:
  1. Out Of The Blue
  2. It's Johnny's Birthday
  3. Plug Me In
Side 6:
  1. I Remember Jeep
  2. Thanks For The Pepperoni

Session Outtakes And Jams

Side 1:
  1. Isn't It A Pity - Take 14
  2. Wah-Wah - Take 1
  3. I'd Have You Anytime - Take 5
  4. Art Of Dying - Take 1
Side 2:
  1. Isn't It A Pity - Take 27
  2. If Not For You - Take 2
  3. Wedding Bells (Are Breaking Up That Old Gang Of Mine) - Take 1
  4. What Is Life - Take 1
  5. Beware Of Darkness - Take 8
Side 3:
  1. Hear Me Lord - Take 5
  2. Let It Down - Take 1
  3. Run Of The Mill - Take 36
  4. Down To The River (Rocking Chair Jam) - Take 1
Side 4:
  1. Get Back - Take 1
  2. Almost 12 Bar Honky Tonk - Take 1
  3. It's Johnny's Birthday - Take 1
  4. Woman Don't You Cry For Me - Take 5

Customers Also Like