Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Gerry Mulligan & Ben Webster Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster Numbered Limited Edition 200g LP

Gerry Mulligan & Ben Webster

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
MFSL 1-234
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Numbered, Limited Edition!

What a meeting! The King of Baritone and the Tenor Prince recorded in 1959, released on Verve. In the original liner notes Nat Hentoff quotes Dave Brubeck, 'In listening to Gerry Mulligan you feel as if you're listening to the past, present and future of jazz, all in one tune, and yet it's done with such taste and respect, that you're not ever aware of a change in idiom.' Hentoff comments, 'One of Ben Webster's more definitive solos while with Duke Ellington was in Billy Strayhorn's Chelsea Bridge. He begins this version with much the same tenderly retrospective mood with Mulligan providing a wave-like background.

'I doubt if any contemporary tenor saxophonist of any jazz 'style' can match the largeness of Ben's tone and feeling on ballads.' Now a well-loved classic, Hentoff correctly predicted '...the obvious likelihood that this one will be listened to as long as any one cares about jazz.'

• Mastered Directly from the Original Master Tapes!
• Specially Plated and Pressed on 200 Grams of High Definition Vinyl
• 1/2 Speed Mastered Original Master Recording Series
• Special Static Free-Dust Free Inner Sleeve
• Gatefold Jacket
• Numbered, Limited Edition

Gerry Mulligan - baritone sax
Ben Webster - tenor sax
Jimmy Rowles - piano
Leroy Vinnegar - bass
Mel Lewis - drums

1. Chelsea Bridge
2. The Cat Walk
3. Sunday
4. Who's Got Rhythm
5. Tell Me When
6. Go Home
7. In A Mellotone
8. What Is This Thing Called Love
9. For Bessie
10. Fajista
11. Blues In B Flat

Customers Also Like