Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Gram Parsons Early Years Vol. 1 & 2 180g Import 2LP

Gram Parsons

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl!

The Early Years Volume 1 & 2 brings together Gram Parsons' (International Submarine Band, The Byrds, The Flying Burrito Brothers) earliest recordings in one convenient and beautiful document on 180 gram audiophile vinyl. It may be a good bit different than the music that made Parsons a legend, but these rough tapes show the talent was always there and was capable of expressing itself in a variety of ways.

The first ten songs were taken from a demo Parsons recorded in 1965 at a radio station with the Shilos, a Kingston Trio-type folk group he sang with for a few years. Originals like "Big Country" and "Zah's Blues" show he was already making his mark as a songwriter. Next are eight living-room recordings from late 1965 of Parsons performing solo with his guitar in a friend's apartment in New York City. The performances are thoughtful and full of soul, and the songs show Parsons was strongly developing his creative talent. The set also includes a pair of tunes Parsons cut with The Like, his short-lived rock band. The vinyl set closes with a few tunes Parsons recorded with Brandon de Wilde. Their recordings of "Do Right Woman" and "Together Again" are the first glimpses of the style that would become Parsons' quality mark.

A must-have document of Parsons' first musical efforts!

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Sleeve
• Import

LP 1 - Side One:

1. I May Be Right
2. Big Country
3. Zah's Blues
4. Mary Don't You Weep
5. Bells Of Rhymney
LP 1 - Side Two:
1. Goin' Away, Don't You Wanta Go
2. They Still Go Down
3. On My Journey Home
4. Surfinanny
5. Oh, Didn't They Crucify My Lord
6. The Great Silke

LP 2 - Side Three:
1. Race With The Wind
2. The Rains Come Down
3. Hand Within The Glove
4. Rolling Stone
5. Darkest Years
6. That Kind Of Livin'
LP 2 - Side Four:
1. A River Is Made Out Of Raindrops
2. Just Can't Take It Any More
3. November Nights
4. Together Again
5. Do Right Woman
6. Hickory Wind

Customers Also Like