Genre: Classical
Composer: Grieg
Format: 33RPM,


Grieg Peer Gynt 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
ADEC 2012
180 Gram Virgin Vinyl! High Quality Pressing!

No matter how often one hears it, who can ever fail to enjoy “Morning Mood” from Peer Gynt, the incidental music which Grieg wrote for Henrik Ibsen’s play of the same name. And who can fail to want to accompany the hero on his musical journey through the uncanny world of gnomes and trolls and the seductive exoticism of the Orient, and to return to the stillness of the North after a long sea voyage? And who better to capture the magic of romantic Scandinavian music than Grieg’s compatriot, the unforgettable Øivin Fjeldstad, under whose baton the London Symphony Orchestra conjures up the highly changeable moods with a rare forceful presence.

The velvet-smooth, highly sonorous strings play with delicately shaded dynamics and impressive spatiality, while the wonderfully gentle winds transport the listener to the atmosphere of the concert hall. There’s no escaping this music; once you have sat down to listen to it, it will hold you enraptured right up to the very last note.

This excellent DECCA recording, now available in a limited edition, will surely be sold out within no time!

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

Recording: February 1958 at Kingsway Hall, London by Cyril Windeback / Production: Christopher Raeburn

• 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl
• High Quality Pressing
• Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering

1. Prelude, Op. 23, No. 1
2. Morning Mood, op. 23, No. 13
3. The Death of Ase, Op. 23, No. 12
4. Anitra's Dance, Op. 23, No. 16
5. In the Hall of the Mountain King, Op. 23, No. 7
6. Ingrid's Abduction and Lament, Op. 23, No. 4
7. Arab Dance, Op. 23, No. 15
8. Peer Gynt's Home-Coming, Op. 23, No. 19
9. Solvejg's Song, Op. 23, No. 11
10. Dance of the Mountain King's Daughter, Op. 23, No. 8

Customers Also Like