Genre: Alternative
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Habibi Habibi LP (Red Vinyl) & 45rpm 7" Vinyl EP (Yellow Vinyl)


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming November 18, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Remastered from the Original Audio Source.
Limited Edition Red Vinyl LP.
Includes A Bonus 7" EP on Yellow Vinyl!

"A cursory listen to Brooklyn indie act Habibi's self-titled debut album would initially seem to suggest a straightforward punk approach to the classic girl group template. Front-loaded with sweetly catchy upbeat pop tracks like 'I Got the Moves' and 'Detroit Baby,' Habibi's indie shimmy rhythms and reverb-heavy harmonies find the middle ground between the Shangri-Las and the Undertones in the same way the Vivian Girls did on their earliest work. The guitar lines are direct and no-frills, drummer Karen Isabel manages to play in a way that is equally powerful and understated, and the vocals are distant and eerie, whether delivered in a frantic rush solely by lead singer Rahill Jamalifard, as on spiky garage tracks like 'Persepolis,' or in a dreamy cloud of harmony by multiple bandmembers. Getting past the first few easily digestible girl group pop hits, it becomes clear that the true strength of Habibi lies in just how strange and haunted the songs can get. There's a spooky desperation in the slinky after-hours club narrative of 'Let Me In' and a simmering anxiety lurking beneath what first appears to be a carefree tale of summer seduction on 'Siin.' Habibi tap into the very specific energy of a young band putting together its earliest songs, free from the self-consciousness and rules that can creep in and dull groups down once they become more established. Instead, the 11 songs that make up this perfectly brief album feel fresh and spirited even in their moments of occasional awkwardness or disjointedness. Far from naïve but also completely lacking any of the jaded calculation of many of their peers, Habibi's debut offers up a set of songs that swim in strangeness, beauty, and discovery and are every bit as infectious as they are refreshing." -Fred Thomas,, 4/5 stars


  • Deluxe Edition
  • Limited Edition
  • Red Vinyl
  • Remastered from the Original Audio Source
  • Bonus 45rpm 7" Vinyl EP on Yellow Vinyl - Out-of-Print Cardamom Garden EP
  • Limited-Time Digital Download Card



Side A:
  1. Far from Right
  2. I Got the Moves
  3. Detroit Baby
  4. Sunsets
  5. Sweetest Talk
  6. She Comes Along
Side B:
  1. Persepolis
  2. Let Me In
  3. Siin
  4. Tomboy
  5. Gone Like Yesterday

Bonus 7"

Side A:
  1. Khodaya
  2. Gypsy Love
Side B:
  1. Nedayeh Bahar
  2. Green Fuz

Customers Also Like