Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Hank Mobley Mobley's Message 200g LP (Mono)

Hank Mobley

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition 200 Gram LP! Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
Mastered by Kevin Gray & Cut from the Original Mono 100% Analog Master Tapes!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Part of the ultimate audiophile Prestige mono reissues from Analogue Productions — 25 of the most collectible, rarest, most audiophile-sounding Rudy Van Gelder recordings ever made. All mastered from the original analog master tapes by mastering maestro Kevin Gray. 200-gram LPs pressed at state-of -the-art plant Quality Record Pressings and plated by Gary Salstrom. Deep groove label pressings, tip-on jackets on thick cardboard stock.

Recorded on July 20, 1956, this Prestige release features performances by Mobley, Donald Byrd, Barry Harris, Doug Watkins and Art Taylor with Jackie McLean as guest on "Au Privave".

Many are familiar with the long-lined tenor offerings of Hank Mobley through his work with the Jazz Messengers. It was during his tenure with that group that he really came into his own. Prior to that he had been with several groups including Max Roach's intermittently during the 1951-3 period, Dizzy Gillespie's for most of 1954 and late in the year the Horace Silver group which grew into the Messengers.

Born in Eastman, Georgia in 1930, but raised in New Jersey, Hank made a small name for himself around the Newark area in the Garden State. After a stint with Paul Gayten's r&b band in 1950 he was formally introduced to a wider jazz audience with the Roach quartet. That he was following the Charlie Parker tradition was evident, and he had also been touched by Sonny Rollins. To these influences however, he brought a personal feeling and identifiable sound both of which have been further crystallized in the years that followed. The Parker lineage is still unmistakable but is more general than specific and the occasional references to Rollins are now no more than tips of the hat.

Hank's sound is a distinctive one which serves well the emotional content and rhythmic bent of his ideas. Its texture is more like a pulling in than a blowing out and once prompted Ira Gitler to write after hearing him at a club, "He sounded as if he was inhaling notes from the field between the microphone and the bell of his horn and transmitting them through the loudspeaker at our left by means of a magnetic reed."

Mobley's message is delivered in three different size envelopes. Four are by the quintet in which Hank is helped by telegrapher Donald Byrd and his "sending" trumpet. They disseminate the information of two dictums from bop's palmy days, Bud Powell's "Bouncin' With Bud" and Thelonious Monk's "52nd Street Theme" plus two more personal statements, Hank's "Minor Disturbance" and the group's "Alternating Current".

For Charlie Parker's blues, "Au Privave", the group becomes a sextet with the addition of the young herald of the alto sax, Jackie Mclean. Hank is the sole horn on "Little Girl Blues". Helping in all departments throughout are the everswinging duo of Art Taylor and Doug Watkins, joined here by another in the illustrious line of emigres from Detroit, pianist Barry Harris. Extremely reminiscent of the Bud Powell of a bygone decade but with a lighter touch, Barry shines, like the young star that he is, all over this record, thereby fully illuminating all messages.

"Mobley is joined by trumpeter Donald Byrd. Altoist Jackie McLean is also on hand for Parker's 'Au Privave,' and the rhythm section of Barry Harris on piano, Doug Watkins on bass, and Art Taylor on drums, provides perfect support... [H]ard-bop devotees shouldn't overlook Mobley's Message, especially when they can savor this superb vinyl reissue." - Duck Baker, The Absolute Sound, October 2013, Music 3.5/5, Sonics 5/5

Recorded July 20, 1956 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio.

• 200g Vinyl LP
• Limited Edition, Less Than 1000 Records per stamper, released in limited quantities
• The Original 100% Analog Master Tapes were used working with only the Best Mastering Studios!
• Mastered by Kevin Gray & Plated by Gary Salstrom
• Plated and Pressed at Quality Record Pressings on Virgin Vinyl
• Meticulous Test Pressing Evaluation and Quality Control
• Deluxe Packaging using the highest quality jackets and rice paper inner sleeves
• Officially Licensed & Authorized for release by the Record Label
• Mono

Hank Mobley, tenor sax
Don Byrd, trumpet
Jackie McLean, alto sax
Barry Harris, piano
Doug Watkins, bass
Art Taylor, drums

Side One:
1. Bouncin' With Bud
2. 52nd Street Theme
3. Au Privave
Side Two:
4. Minor Disturbance
5. Little Girl Blue
6. Alternating Current

Customers Also Like