Heartworn Highways Soundtrack 2LP

$14.99 $29.99
(You save $15.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Soundtrack To 1976 Documentary On Double LP!
Featuring Townes Van Zandt, Guy Clark, Rodney Crowell, Steve Earle, John Hiatt, David Allen Coe & More!

In the early '70s, as Willie Nelson let his hair grow long and brought together hippies and country music fans, a new country music world was developing. Heartworn Highways is an iconic performance documentary that masterfully captures this magical slice of time through encounters with many of the true progenitors of the outlaw country scene. These radical country artists reclaimed the genre via an appreciation for its heritage in folk and bluegrass and a rejection of the mainstream Nashville machine. Some of country music's great songwriters, including Townes Van Zandt, Guy Clark, Steve Young, David Allen Coe, Larry Jon WIlson and Steve Earle appear on this soundtrack. Musical highlights include Clark's brilliant "Desperadoes Waiting For A Train", Young's stirring "Alabama Highways" and Van Zandt's emotional "Waiting 'Round To Die".

2xLP remastered from the original tapes and includes expansive essay.

• Double LP
• Black Vinyl
• Remastered from the original tapes
• 20 page booklet with essay by Sam Sweet interviewing artists and documentary creators and crew

Side A:

1. L.A. Freeway - Guy Clark
2. "...that's a Lightnin' lick..."
3. Ohoopee River Bottomland - Larry Jon Wilson
4. That Old Time Feeling - Guy Clark
5. "...people condemn whiskey..."
6. Waiting 'Round To Die - Townes Van Zandt
Side B:
1. I Still Sing The Old Songs - David Allan Coe
2. Intro
3. Desperados Waiting For A Train - Guy Clark
4. Bluebird Wine - Rodney Crowell
5. Alabama Highway - Steve Young
Side C:
1. Intro
2. Pancho And Lefty - Townes Van Zandt
3. Texas Cookin' - Guy Clark
4. Charlie's PLace (Gamble's Story) - Gamble Rogers
6. "...these guards all drive Cadillacs!"
7. River - David Allan Coe
8. One For The One - John Hiatt
Side D:
1. Darlin' Commit Me - Steve Earle
2. Ballad Of Laverne And Captain Flint - Guy Clark
3. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry - Steve Young
4. Mercenary Song - Steve Earle
5. "...would you do Elijah's Church?"
6. Elijah's Church - Steve Earle
7. Silent Night - Rodney Crowell

Customers Also Like