Herbert von Karajan Strauss Don Quixote, Till Eulenspiegel & Don Juan Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Herbert von Karajan

$44.99 $74.99
(You save $30.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Hybrid SACD!
Featuring ESOTERIC's Proprietary Re-Mastering Process to Achieve the Highest Level of Sound Quality!
Japanese Pressing, Deluxe Digi-pak Packaging, THE definitive Classical Performance on SACD!

Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker through Richard Strauss's Don Quixote (recorded January 1986), Till Eulenspiegels (recorded June 1986), and Don Juan (recorded February 1983).

Classical masterpiece collection
The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid Super Audio CD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release.

These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

Experience by yourself...
Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the "soul" hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Mastering Engineer: Masaya Higashino (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Technical Manager: Tetsuya Kato (ESOTERIC COMPANY)

ESOTERIC equipment used for re-mastering
The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. ESOTERIC's flag ship D/A converters, model Grandioso D1X, Master clock generator model Grandioso G1X and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.


  • Limited Edition - One-Time Pressing
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • DSD Mastering
  • Deluxe Digipack Packaging
  • Made in Japan


António Meneses violoncello (Don Quixote)
Wolfram Christ viola (Don Quixote)
Leon Spierer violin (Don Quixote)
Berliner Philharmoniker
Herbert von Karajan conductor


Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Don Quixote, Op. 35
Fantasische Variationen über ein Thema ritterlichen Charakters
  1. Introduktion (Mäßiges Zeitmaß) - Thema (Mäßig)
  2. Variation I (Gemächlich)
  3. Variation II (Kriegerisch)
  4. Variation III (Mäßiges Zeitmaß)
  5. Variation IV (Etwas breiter)
  6. Variation V (Sehr langsam)
  7. Variation VI (Schnell)
  8. Variation VII (Ein wenig ruhiger als vorher)
  9. Variation VIII (Gemächlich)
  10. Variation IX (Schnell und stürmisch)
  11. Variation X (Viel breiter)
  12. Finale (Sehr ruhig)
  13. Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28
    nach alter Schelmenweise - in Rondeauform
  14. Don Juan, Op. 20
    Tondichtung nach Nicolaus Lenau