Genre: Classical
Label: Esoteric
Composer: Richard Strauss
Additional Artists: David Bell Herbert von Karajan


Herbert von Karajan Strauss Eine Alpensinfonie & Metamorphosen Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Berline Philharmonic

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition SACD!

Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berlin Philharmonic, featuring David Bell on organ, in Richard Strauss' Eine Alpensinfonie, Op.64, and Metamorphosen. Recorded December 1-3, 1980 [Alpensinfonie], and September 25, 1980 [Metamorphosen], Philharmonie, Berlin.

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been main stays of the catalog since their initial release. These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

SACD Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
SACD Re-mastering Engineer: Masaya Higashino (JVC Mastering Center Daikanyama Studio)
SACD Authoring: Atsuo Fujita (Ef Limited)


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Made in Japan
  • Deluxe, Full-Color High-Quality Digi-pak Gatefold Packaging
  • Total Time: 77:24


David Bell organ
Berliner Philharmoniker
Herbert von Karajan conductor


Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64
  1. Nacht
  2. Sonnenaufgang
  3. Der Anstieg
  4. Eintritt in den Wald
  5. Wanderung neben dem Bache
  6. Am Wasserfall
  7. Erscheinung
  8. Auf blumige Wiesen
  9. Auf der Alm
  10. Durch Dickicht und Gestrüpp auf Irrwegen
  11. Auf dem Gletscher
  12. Gefahrvolle Augenblicke
  13. Auf dem Gipfel
  14. Vision
  15. Nebel steigen auf
  16. Die Sonne verdüstert sich allmählich
  17. Elegie
  18. Stille vor dem Sturm
  19. Gewitter und Sturm, Abstieg
  20. Sonnenuntergang
  21. Ausklang
  22. Nacht
  1. Studie für 23 Solostreicher

Customers Also Like