J.D. Souther Black Rose 180g LP

J.D. Souther

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl LP Pressed at RTI!
Remastered by Kevin Gray From Original Analog Master Tapes!
Featuring David Crosby, Linda Ronstadt, Don Henley, Glenn Frey & More!

John David Souther's Peter Asher-produced sophomore beauty—now back on vinyl!

After his impressive debut, JD Souther worked with Chris Hillman (Byrds, Flying Burrito Brothers) and Richie Furay (Buffalo Springfield, Poco) in the short lived Souther/Hillman/Furay Band. But, at that same time, his songwriting reputation grew, as friends and colleagues took his material to commercial heights.

Five years after John David Souther, Black Rose appeared. Beautifully helmed by Peter Asher, the album was not only full of incredible songs, but a who’s who of musicians including Lowell George (Little Feat), Joe Walsh, Waddy Wachtel, Jim Keltner, Andrew Gold, Russ Kunkel, Donald Byrd, and Stanley Clarke—with David Crosby, Art Garfunkel, Don Henley and Glenn Frey adding their voices. In addition to the lush production and instrumentation, Souther's ten songs were again exceptional. Linda Ronstadt had previously recorded "Faithless Love" on her breakthrough Heart Like A Wheel album, and would tackle "Simple Man, Simple Dream" in 1977—even basing that year's album title on the song. (For the record, Ronstadt has recorded 10 Souther tracks, a relationship which began with his production on her 1973 album Don’t Cry Now, also named for a Souther composition.)

"Black Rose was an ambitious undertaking, and it took a long time," Souther stated in a recent interview with Scott Schinder. "I wanted to use all the musical influences I had, and I really had to dig deep. But when we were finished, I was almost as pleased with it as if it had sold a million copies. Almost."

Now is the time for those million copies to bloom.

• 180g Vinyl
• Original LP package
• Lyrics
• Gatefold jacket
• Remastered by Kevin Gray from original analog master tapes
• Pressed at RTI

Side One:

1. Banging My Head Against The Moon
2. If You Have Crying Eyes
3. Your Turn Now
4. Faithless Love
5. Baby Come Home
Side Two:
1. Simple Man, Simple Dream
2. Silver Blue
3. Midnight Prowl
4. Doors Swing Open
5. Black Rose

Customers Also Like