Genre: R&B
Label: DOL
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


James Brown Shout And Shimmy Import 180g LP

James Brown

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Out Of Print! Only 1 copy left!

180g Import LP!

James Brown, the "Godfather of Soul", began his career as a gospel singer before joining an R&B vocal group which later evolved into The Famous Flames. Brown built a reputation as a tireless live performer during his time with The Flames, and their song "Shout And Shimmy", written by Brown, rose to #16 on the R&B chart and #61 on the Billboard Hot 100.

"On an album named after the R&B Top 40 title hit and featuring the 1961 Top Ten R&B hit "I Don't Mind," James Brown & His Famous Flames can be heard making music in the variety of styles -- blues, Little Richard-style rock, doo wop -- out of which they eventually would develop the James Brown funk sound of the mid-'60s. (Actually, the music is older than the copyright date, since King cobbled the LP together from non-charting singles and B-sides dating back to 1958.) It's a more primitive sound than they would later achieve, but remains infectious." - William Ruhlmann,

• 180g Vinyl
• Import

Side A:

1. Shout And Shimmy
2. Good Good Lovin'
3. Have Mercy Baby
4. Begging, Begging
5. Just Won't Do Right
6. It Was You
7. There Must Be A Reason
8. Fine Old Foxy Self
Side B:
1. I've Got To Change
2. Gonna Try
3. I Want You So Bad
4. It Hurts To Tell You
5. Hold It
6. I Won't Plead No More
7. Don't Let It Happen To Me

Customers Also Like