Genre: Pop Rock


James Taylor Walking Man Gold CD

James Taylor

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out of Print! Limited Supplies!

Numbered, Limited Edition!

Walking Man, James Taylor's fifth album, released in 1974, finds him at a transitional period. This album is the first that has the contemporary JT feel to it with more mature songwriting and sound. He still delivers the classic sound developed back in the Sweet Baby James era but the 'one man and his guitar' format has given way to heavier orchestration and use of a horn section that gives the general sound more of a bite. The production is precise and manicured and always features Taylor's unique guitar style with his friendly, vulnerable voice at the center of each song.

James alternates between ballads with strings, ballads with horns and ballads with himself, as well as jazz and folk. The title song "Walking Man", released as the album's first single, stands today as an often reprised fan favorite. Also included is the tender lullaby "Daddy's Baby", written in honor of Taylor's then newly born daughter. Taylor delivers Chuck Berry's 1964 hit, "The Promised Land," with understated fidelity, and joining James on his most unabashed rock effort to date, "Rock 'N' Roll Is Music Now", is Carly Simon and Paul and Linda McCartney. Taylor has an understated way with a lyric but always hits his mark, which is the listener's heart.

You've never heard your favorite music sound this good! The clarity is exceptional, you will hear deeper lows and crisper highs. Treat yourself to a musical experience you've never had before! These new 24KT+ Gold CDs reproduce the ultimate sound of a classic recorded performance without the irregular plated surfaces of standard aluminum discs.

Audio Fidelity's 24KT+ Gold CD series brings you classic music in deluxe packaging with see-through slip cases using original album art, all beautifully reproduced. They only use the original master mixes played back on a specially constructed vintage playback deck. Here's where the PLUS (+) comes in: The analog masters are put through their new proprietary analog to digital converter which reinforces the resolution of the original masters adding true "breath of life" to the music. Without any further sonic manipulation the master is shipped directly to the manufacturing plant for etching in "real time" onto the glass surface by laser. The end result of this unique mastering process is a compact disc with the warm sound of the original analog master tape combined with a genuine 24 karat gold surface free of any type of physical defect making Audio Fidelity's 24KT+ Gold CD series truly one of a kind!

• 24k Gold CD
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Mastered by Steve Hoffman

1. Walking Man
2. Rock 'N' Roll Is Music Now
3. Let It All Fall Down
4. Me and My Guitar
5. Daddy's Baby
6. Ain't No Song (David Spinozza and Joey Levine)
7. Hello Old Friend
8. Migration
9. The Promised Land (Chuck Berry)
10. Fading Away

Customers Also Like