Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Southeastern
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit The Nashville Sound 180g LP

Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
2018 Grammy Award Winner!
• Best American Roots Song: "If We Were Vampires"
• Best Americana Album: The Nashville Sound

Americana Music Association Award:
• Album of The Year
• Duo/Group of The Year
• Song of The Year: "If We Were Vampires"

180g Vinyl LP!
One of Rolling Stone's 50 Best Albums of 2017!

After six years as a member of the southern rock band Drive-By Truckers, Jason Isbell released his first solo album, Sirens of the Ditch, in 2007. He then released his first album with his band the 400 Unit (titled Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit) in 2009. They released their second album, Here We Rest, in 2011. The album was produced and recorded by the band themselves. Isbell's 2013 celebrated breakthrough solo album Southeastern received overwhelming support from the press and went on to sell over 150,000 copies. In 2015 Isbell released Something More Than Free, which won the 2016 Grammy Award for Best Americana Album. The song "24 Frames" from the album won the Grammy Award for Best American Roots Song, and Rolling Stone rated the album seventh on its list of 50 Best Albums of 2105.

The Nashville Sound is the first official Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit album since 2011’s Here We Rest. The 400 Unit features Derry deBorja (keyboards), Chad Gamble (drums), Jimbo Hart (bass), Amanda Shires (fiddle) and Sadler Vaden (guitar). Recorded at Nashville's legendary RCA Studio A, The Nashville Sound was produced by Grammy Award-winner Dave Cobb, who also produced Southeastern and Something More Than Free.

"The title of the latest album by Jason Isbell and his Alabama-based wrecking crew The 400 Unit is both promise and provocation. It's partly a shot across the bow of Music City’s current hitmakers, but it's also Isbell's solemn vow that he's going to do his damnedest to live up to the city's legendary songwriters and performers, the ones who put authenticity and integrity before flash and artifice. Those forebears should be proud that they have someone like Isbell carrying on their tradition, because The Nashville Sound is another triumph in his incredible hot streak." - Jim Beviglia, American Songwriter

"This is a set of outstanding songs that registers as the work of a great band, as well as the craft of a world-class tunesmith. Isbell was already a gifted artist when he first gained public visibility with the Drive-By Truckers, but The Nashville Sound finds him growing from strength to strength, and it reaffirms his place as one of the best and most emotionally affecting artists working in roots music today." - Mark Deming,

"The intoxicating thing about this album is that the songs are able to transcend the painful realities of race, class and personal politics with an honest and hopeful faith in the goodness of people, the people he knows so well...Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit are the freshest sound to emerge from the nexus of folk and country in many years. Their music is articulate and rocking, simple and yet able to present complex ideas; rooted in the past with their eyes and hearts fixed firmly on the future." - Fergus Hambleton, Spill Magazine

"'I ain't fighting with you down in the ditch, I'll meet you up here on the road,' sings Jason Isbell on 'Hope the High Road,' the declaration of unyielding perseverance that ties together his sixth studio album, a 10-track Americana jewel. Indeed, Isbell elevates relationships ('If We Were Vampires'), discussions about privilege ('White Man's World') and the art of songwriting itself to a higher plane on The Nashville Sound. But the LP addresses nationwide blue-collar hardships, from the trap of addiction ('Cumberland Gap') to crushed dreams ('Tupelo'), proving Isbell is a voice for all people, not just the ones in the South." - Rolling Stone, 50 Best Albums of 2017

• 180g Vinyl
• Gatefold Jacket
• Includes Limited Time Album Download

Side A:

1. Last Of My Kind
2. Cumberland Gap
3. Tupelo
4. White Man’s World
5. If We Were Vampires
Side B:
1. Anxiety
2. Molotov
3. Chaos And Clothes
4. Hope The High Road
5. Something To Love

Customers Also Like