Genre: Jazz
Label: Blue Engine
Size: 12"
Composer: Wynton Marsalis
Format: 33RPM,


Jazz At Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis The Democracy! Suite LP

Jazz At Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet & Wynton Marsalis

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

A Stylish New Suite From Wynton Marsalis On Vinyl LP!
Explore The Democratic Essence Of Jazz!

"Jazz music is the perfect metaphor for democracy," says famed trumpeter Wynton Marsalis. At a time when America - and indeed, the whole world - finds itself at a crossroads, the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer has been inspired to write a poignant and buoyant work, The Democracy! Suite, which proves that the joy and beauty of jazz can bring us all closer together.

That new suite is now an album from Marsalis and a septet composed of members of the famed Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. Recorded live in Jazz at Lincoln Center's Appel Room during the Covid-19 lockdown, the work is irresistible and irrepressible. Tracks like "Out Amongst the People (For J Bat)" and "Be Present" are an impassioned reflection of turbulent times that find peerless musicians working as a harmonious community, urging us to reflect on the past and reconsider the future.

"The question that confronts us right now as a nation is, 'Do we want to find a better way?'" Marsalis says. The music of The Democracy! Suite may be instrumental, but it speaks for itself, urging us onto action - to get out of our seats and fight for the world we believe in.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Recorded on September 27, 2020 at Jazz At Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall


Side A:

  1. Be Present
  2. Sloganize, Patronize, Realize, Revolutionize (Black Lives Matters) Anti-Gone
  3. Ballot Box Bounce
  4. That Dance We Do (That You Love Too)

Side B:

  1. Deeper Than Dreams
  2. Out Amongst The People (for J Bat)
  3. It Come 'Round 'Gin
  4. That's When All Will See