Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Jefferson Starship Red Octopus 180g LP (Translucent Red Vinyl)

Jefferson Starship

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

45th Anniversary Limited Edition 180g Audiophile Translucent Red Vinyl LP!
Mastered From The Grunt Records Tapes by Joe Reagoso!
Pressed at Furnace!

Jefferson Starship's legendary platinum plus album Red Octopus offered a very popular approach to their already successful formula as Jefferson Airplane with alumni Grace Slick, Paul Kanter and Marty Balin on board for this second venture. Also along for the meteoric ride were Quicksilver's legendary David Freiberg (bass/vocals), Johnny Barbata on drums (CSN&Y/Turtles), Papa John Creach (violin), Pete Sears (keys/vocals) and Craig Chaquico (lead guitar/vocals). The incredible musicianship and hit song writing of the team proved to be the solid bond to bring historic commercial success to this legendary band.

Released in 1975, their masterwork Red Octopus became a big hit, thanks to the help of multiple format radio hits like their new hit single "Miracles". The multi-format radio smash composed by Jefferson Airplane co-founder Marty Balin would go on to become one of the biggest songs of the year (Top #3 Chart Record), as well as becoming the biggest single of Jefferson Starship's career.

The magic only begins as more incredible classic rock fare abounds with the wonderful rocker "Play On Love". Grace Slick hammers out one of her finest performances vocally ever on this tune, and the band truly excels with the incredible keyboard work of Pete Sears and the stellar electric violin artistry of Papa John Creach.

A pair of hard rock anthems featuring the strong vocals and guitar of Jefferson Airplane co-founder Paul Kantner, "I Want To See Another World" and "There Will Be Love", truly keep the spirit of "The Summer Of Love" which was always a central theme to all things Airplane/Starship.

Radio discovered more hit tracks soon enough with the powerful album opener "Fast Buck Freddie" as well as more progressive rockers like "Ai Garimasu (There Is Love)" and the power ballad "Tumblin" featuring the songwriting talents of David Freiberg, Marty Balin and Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter.

Friday Music is no stranger to the important musical catalogs of Jefferson Airplane, Jefferson Starship, and Hot Tuna. Therefore, it is with much pleasure to announce the first time ever 180 Gram Translucent Red Audiophile Vinyl release of their rock masterpiece Red Octopus.

Celebrating its 45th Anniversary, this super limited edition album is now impeccably mastered from the Grunt Records tapes by Joe Reagoso (Jefferson Airplane/Jefferson Starship/Hot Tuna) at Friday Music Studios, and pressed at Furnace.

To further your Jefferson Starship listening experience, Friday Music are also including for a very limited time, the striking retro front cover art printed with gold embossed die cut lettering, out of circulation for years, plus the full color long out of print inner sleeve art featuring all the memorable lyrics to this classic rock masterpiece.


  • 45th Anniversary
  • Limited Edition
  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Translucent Red Vinyl
  • Mastered from the Grunt Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios
  • Pressed at Furnace
  • Retro front cover art printed with gold embossed die-cut lettering
  • Full color long-out-of-print inner sleeve art with lyrics


Side A:

  1. Fast Buck Freddie
  2. Miracles
  3. Git Fiddler
  4. Ai Garimasu (There Is Love)
  5. Sweeter Than Honey

Side B:

  1. Play On Love
  2. Tumblin
  3. I Want To See Another World
  4. Sandalphon
  5. There Will Be Love

Customers Also Like