Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Impex
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


Jennifer Warnes Famous Blue Raincoat 1STEP Numbered Limited Edition 180g 45rpm 3LP

Jennifer Warnes

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1STEP Process 180g 45rpm Triple LP Pressed on VR900-Supreme Vinyl!
Cut Using Original Analog Masters from the 1986 digital recordings by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering!
Strictly Limited To 7,500 Numbered Pressings!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Impex Records is celebrating the 35th anniversary of Jennifer Warnes' seminal audiophile classic with our ultimate collaboration. This authorized production of Famous Blue Raincoat is getting the complete Impex 1STEP treatment! After Bernie Grundman cuts the last lacquers, Jennifer's analog mixdown master tapes will return to the vault for good.

We have always treasured our work with Ms. Warnes, from the original Famous Blue Raincoat 45 Box, The Well, The Hunter, and her latest LP, Another Time, Another Place. This ultimate release celebrates Jennifer's singular legacy of musical excellence with exceptional craft in coordination with the original production team of Jennifer, C. Roscoe Beck, and Bernie Grundman.

For FBR's ultimate Impex release, we return to Jennifer's first-generation analog mixdown master tapes (from the original digital recordings) and let Bernie work his magic within the laborious 1STEP mastering process on BG Mastering's tube-cutting lathe. We will cut as many refs and test pressings as needed to get the quietest surfaces and intimate detailing. Final discs will be pressed at RTI on VR-900 super vinyl, illuminating every note and nuance of this cherished masterwork.

The three 1STEP LPs and the elegant new 24-page booklet are housed in a deluxe four-sleeve Monster Pack tip-on jacket and booklet with metallic accents and spot gloss applications. Even if you have every version of this pop classic, you will find considerable value and benefits on this unbeatable production!

The 1STEP Process:
The Impex 1STEP process relies on short, tightly controlled runs that require a new lacquer after each run of 500 pressings. This unforgiving format has the lacquer skipping the regular father-mother process, going right to a single convert and then pressing. Though this dramatically increases mastering and production costs, it also assures each run is more consistent from disc to disc, with less noise, clearer details, and deeper bass.

Reducing production complexity to just a single "convert" disc between the lacquer and the press greatly improves groove integrity, diminishes non-fill anomalies, and increases signal integrity from the master tape to your system.

Impex Records' new 1STEP reissue of Famous Blue Raincoat updates an already superb recording, offering improved levels of clarity and musicality that simply defy belief. None of the added music is fluff—everything here is totally worth the price of admission, and the improved groove geometry afforded by the 1STEP's 45 rpm sides is further enhanced by Neotech's superb VR900BK1 vinyl. When you add the excellent packaging to the already impressive aural considerations, purchasing this set becomes a no-brainer. I give Impex's new 1STEP box of Famous Blue Raincoat my very highest recommendation!
The deep black quiet background, the extreme transparency, and the expansive soundstage and three dimensionally of all the instruments and Jennifer's vocals took a clear step forward. Bass performance was thunderous. Highs were beautifully reproduced and well extended. Mids were glorious. Tone, timbre and pace were more realistic than ever! These improvements were immediately apparent and did make a difference! There was so much information and musicality to this pressing, that I could not get if off the turntable for several weeks. I was hooked! If you ever need help to communicate what an audiophile pressing is all about to a beginning hobbyist, this is the pressing to do it!... Highly recommended!


  • Lacquers cut by Bernie Grundman from Jennifer's original 1986 analog mix-down master tapes. Each set of lacquers is used for short runs of 500 to optimize detail, dynamics, and soundstage. Doing this required Bernie to cut over 100 lacquers throughout the 1STEP production cycle!
  • Pressed at RTI using the world's finest vinyl formula: VR-900!
  • Includes all bonus material from the celebrated Cisco/Impex 45-rpm edition
  • Brand-new design created specifically for this release, featuring new photos
  • Beautifully textured paper-bound slipcase, color-coordinated covering with foil stamping
  • Individually numbered and limited to only 7,500 pressings


Side A:

  1. First We Take Manhattan
  2. Bird on a Wire
  3. Famous Blue Raincoat

Side B:

  1. Joan of Arc
  2. Ain't No Cure for Love

Side C:

  1. Coming Back to You
  2. Song of Bernadette
  3. A Singer Must Die

Side D:

  1. Came So Far for Beauty
  2. Night Comes On

Side E:

  1. The Ballad of the Runaway Horse
  2. If It Be Your Will
  3. A Singer Must Die (8-track Analog Demo Version)

Side F:

  1. Joan of Arc (Live)

Customers Also Like