Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Diverse
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Joan Baez Play Me Backwards 180g 2LP

Joan Baez

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Collector's Edition Double 180 Gram LP Set includes Previous Unreleased Rare "Play Me Backwards" Demos!

First released in 1992, "Play Me Backwards" holds a very special place in the rich recording history of Joan Baez. The album’s sessions brought her back to Nashville for the first time since the series of four albums she had recorded in Music City between 1968 and 1971. Returning to Nashville’s familiar environment two decades later and collaborating with producers Wally Wilson and Kenny Greenberg proved to be a perfect fit. Joan reaffirmed her unique ability to identify and interpret successive generations of songwriters whose music had the ability to speak to her: Mary Chapin Carpenter (“Stones In the Road”), John Stewart (“Strange Rivers”), John Hiatt (“Through Your Hands”), the duo of Janis Ian and Buddy Mondlock (“Amsterdam”), and Ron Davies (“Steal Across the Border” and “The Dream Song”, co-written with Joan). "Play Me Backwards" also contains four songs that Joan co-wrote with her two producers (“Play Me Backwards”, “Isaac and Abraham”, “I’m With You”, and “Edge Of Glory”, one of the last occasions on which she has contributed to an album as a songwriter.

Adding historic provenance to this reissue is a second disc containing previously unreleased demos of 10 songs which were contemplated by Joan and her producers, heard here for the first time. Some of the songwriters are not widely known, such as the late Mark Heard (“Rise From the Ruins”, “Lonely Moon”), John Hadley (“The Last Day”) or Gary Nicholson (“Trouble With the Truth”); and one writer is not known at all (“Medicine Wheel”). On the other hand, there are additional songs from Janis Ian (“We Endure”) and Ron Davies (“Dark Eyed Man”, originally recorded by Kevin Welch as “Dark Eyed Gal”); and one that Joan wrote with Greenberg’s wife, the respected Christian artist Ashley Cleveland (“In My Day”). Fans will be immediately drawn to Joan’s version of Bob Dylan’s “Seven Curses” (his adaptation of the traditional Child ballad “The Maid Freed From the Gallows” aka “Anathea”), the only one of these songs previously recorded by Joan (on the live album Bowery Songs in 2005).

By all accounts, "Play Me Backwards" is said to be the album that began the renaissance of Joan Baez’s career that has continued through 2008’s Grammy-nominated "Day After Tomorrow". "Play Me Backwards" is an album whose impact will continue to reverberate for decades to come.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket
• Collector's Edition featuring Previous Unreleased Rare "Play Me Backwards" Demos!

Joan Baez, guitar, vocals
Wally Wilson, synthesizer, piano
Steve Nathan, organ
Jerry Douglas, guitar, dobro
Kenny Greenberg, guitar
Pamela Sixfin, violin
Edgar Meyer, bass
Marcos Suzano, percussion
Chad Cromwell, drums

LP1 - Side A:
1. Play Me Backwards
2. Amsterdam
3. Isaac & Abraham
4. Stones in the Road
5. Steal Across the Border
6. I'm With You
7. I'm With You (reprise)
LP1 - Side B:
1. Strange Rivers
2. Through Your Hands
3. The Dream Song
4. Edge of Glory

The Play Me Backwards Demos:
LP2 - Side A:

1. Medicine Well
2. Rise From The Ruins
3. Trouble With The Truth
4. Much Better View Of The Moon
5. Seven Courses
LP2 - Side B:
1. Lonely Moon
2. We Endure
3. The Last Day
4. In My Day
5. Dark Eyed Man

Recording: 1992 in Nashville, TN
Production: Wally Wilson and Kenny Greenberg

Customers Also Like