Genre: Soundtrack
Label: Studio Ghibli
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Mai Fujimaki Fujioka
Format: 33RPM,


Joe Hisaishi Ponyo On The Cliff By The Sea Image Album LP

Joe Hisaishi

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Image Album From The Iconic Japanese Anime Film Catalog Of Studio Ghibli!
First Time On Vinyl!

Studio Ghibli's 'Ponyo On The Cliff By The Sea' gets its first vinyl release, as part of the best-selling vinyl series featuring legendary composer Joe Hisaishi.

An image album edition of Joe Hisaishi's memorable soundtrack to Studio Ghibli's 2008 anime hit 'Ponyo On The Cliff By The Sea'. There are ten tracks on this vinyl, including the insanely catchy theme song, "Himawari No Ie No Rinboukyoku" performed by Mai, and two tracks from duo Fujimaki Fujioka.

An "image album" is an LP created specifically for Japanese animations, to give a sense of characters' personalities. In Japan, sound is as important as visuals. Characters in every film and animation, even inanimate objects or feelings, have their own songs created for them. Protagonists have entire albums created for them. These audio impressions are equally as important as visual and tangible physical elements. What results is a multi-sensory experience. The "image" album soundtrack is when the composer is presented with early graphics/imagery to the film and creates a unique soundscape based on the images that will turn into the film. The songs are based on the image/atmosphere of the original comics. They are created before OST or film itself.

Perfect for audiences of all ages, Ponyo centers on the friendship between five-year-old Sosuke and a magical goldfish named Ponyo, the young daughter of a sorcerer father and a sea-goddess mother. After a chance encounter, Ponyo yearns to become a human so she can be with Sosuke. As to be expected with Miyazaki, the film is awash in pure unbridled imagination and visual wonder - but it is the tender love, humor, and devotion exhibited by Ponyo and Sosuke that form the emotional heart of the film.

Remastered and released in a deluxe edition with new jacket artwork and liner notes. First time released on vinyl.

Please enjoy the beauty of artwork and the rich sound of vinyl records.


  • Limited Edition Image Album
  • First time on vinyl
  • Remastered
  • New jacket artwork and liner notes
  • OBI strip
  • Japanese import


Side A:

  1. Ponyo On The Cliff By The Sea
  2. The Coral Tower
  3. Ponyo Comes
  4. Mother Sea
  5. Ponyo's Sisters

Side B:

  1. Fujimoto's Theme
  2. The Light Signal
  3. Ponyo's Lullaby
  4. Real Feelings
  5. Rondo Of The House Of Sunflowers

Customers Also Like