Genre: Classical
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Johann Johannsson & Yair Elazar Glotman Last and First Men 180g 2LP & Blu-Ray Box Set

Johann Johannsson & Yair Elazar Glotman

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Double LP & Blu-Ray Box Set - Housed in Matte-Finish Lift-Off Lid Box!
Features Narration by Tilda Swinton!

Inspired by the cult scifi novel by Olaf Stapledon of the same name, Jóhann Jóhannsson paired images of a decaying futuristic landscape - filmed in 16mm black and white in the former Yugoslav republics - with his haunting orchestral score to form Last and First Men, a meditation on memory and loss. Featuring narration by Tilda Swinton and musical performances by Hildur Guðnadóttir.

Last and First Men is Jóhann Jóhannsson’s poetic swansong. The Icelandic composer was working on the score of his magnum opus at the time of his death in February 2018, distilling and intensifying the symphonic soundworld that he had premiered at Manchester International Festival (MIF) little more than six months earlier. Jóhannsson devised the multimedia work’s visual concept, travelled to the former Yugoslavia to shoot footage of isolated locations and futuristic war memorials, then set about marrying haunting images to music.

A breath-taking requiem for the final human species in civilsation, majestically put together over seven years by a composer who is destined for sheer greatness.
-Manchester Evening News


  • Box Set
  • Original Score Recording on 180g Vinyl Double LP
  • Film on Blu-Ray Disc
  • Picture format: HD color
  • Region Code: All Regions
  • Sound Formats: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio
  • Menu Language: English
  • Subtitle Language: English
  • Blu-Ray running time: 70:42
  • Housed in lift-off box - matte finish
  • 4-page booklet
  • 3 Artprints
  • Made in Germany


Side A:

  1. Prelude
  2. A Minor Astronomical Event
  3. A Move To Neptune
  4. Physical Description Of The Last Human Beings
  5. Architecture
  6. Supreme Monuments

Side B:

  1. Telepathic Unity
  2. Childhood / Land Of The Young
  3. The Navigators

Side C:

  1. The Sun
  2. A New Doom
  3. Task No. 1: The Scattering Of Seeds
  4. Task No. 2: Communicating With The Past
  5. The Last Office Of Humanity
  6. Slow Destruction Of Neptune

Side D:

  1. The Few That Prevail
  2. The Last Men
  3. Remembrance Of The Past
  4. The Universal End
  5. Epilogue

Blu-Ray Disc:

  1. Prelude
  2. Introduction
  3. A Minor Astronomical Event
  4. A Move To Neptune
  5. Physical Description Of The Last Human Beings
  6. Architecture
  7. Childhood / Land Of The Young
  8. Telepathic Unity
  9. The Navigators
  10. A New Doom
  11. Two Tasks
  12. No. 1: The Scattering Of Seeds
  13. No. 2: Communicating With The Past
  14. Slow Destruction Of Neptune
  15. The Universal End
  16. Credits, 1.Menu / Jóhann Jóhannsson, Yair Elazar Glotman / Last And First Men

Customers Also Like