Johanna Martzy & Ida Haendel Mendelssohn Violin Concerto 180g Import LP

Johanna Martzy

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Audiophile Virgin Vinyl Pressed at Pallas in Germany!
Cut at Emil Berliner Studio and Mastered from the Original Master Tapes of SWR Music!

It is particularly instructive, following the terrific studio recordings of the concertos by Mendelssohn to hear the exciting live concert recording made in Stuttgart a few years later with the chief conductor of the RSO, Hans Müller-Kray (1959) and appreciate what a phenomenal violinist Johanna Martzy was, without any thought of grandstanding or pretension, always authentic, fully emphatic and with a select, cultivated taste. - from liner notes by Christoph Schlüren

"The young Ida Haendel was technically on top form in Stuttgart in 1953-55 when she broadcast the Mendelssohn Concerto under the baton of Hans Müller-Kray, her approach, as ever, sweet-toned, fiery... always her inimitable self." - The Gramophone Magazine

• 180g Audiophile Virgin Vinyl
• Cut to lacquers at Emil Berliner Studio
• Mastered from the original master tapes of SWR archives
• Audiophile full analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard
• Analogphonic release
• Pressed at Pallas Gmbh in Germany
• Import

Johanna Martzy, violin
Ida Haendel, violin
Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR
Hans Muller-Kray, conductor

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)
Side A:
Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64

1. Allegro molto appassionato
2. Andante
3. Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace
Side B:
1. Allegro molto appassionato
2. Andante
3. Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace

Customers Also Like