Genre: Soundtrack
Label: Waxwork
Size: 12"
Composer: John Carpenter
Format: 33RPM,


John Carpenter & Alan Howarth Escape From New York Soundtrack 180g 2LP ("Statue Of Liberty" Colored Vinyl)

John Carpenter & Alan Howarth

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Expanded & Remastered On 180g "Statue Of Liberty" Colored Vinyl 2LP!

Waxwork Records is proud to release John Carpenter's Escape From New York Expanded Original Motion Picture Score. Released in 1981, Escape From New York is a science fiction action film co-written and co-scored by John Carpenter starring Kurt Russell, Donald Pleasence, Adrienne Barbeau and Harry Dean Stanton. The film is set in the near-future world of 1997 where the United States has devolved into a coast to coast crime-ridden continent. Manhattan Island in New York City has been converted into the country's maximum security prison where criminal offenders are transported and forgotten. In an effort to kidnap the president of the United States, Air Force One is hijacked by insurgents and purposefully crashed into New York City. Ex-soldier and current federal prisoner, Snake Plissken (Russell) is given just 24 hours to go in and rescue the president (Pleasence), after which, if successful, Snake will be pardoned.

John Carpenter's Escape From New York received commercial success upon its summer 1981 release and is now considered a cult classic. The film has inspired popular video games such as Metal Gear Solid, filmmakers such as J.J. Abrams, and authors such as William Gibson.

The score was written by John Carpenter and co-produced by Carpenter and Alan Howarth. Howarth used equipment including ARP and Prophet-5 synthesizers and a Linn LM-1 drum machine, as well as an acoustic piano and Fender guitars, to create the palette of sounds used in the score, while Carpenter composed the melodies on the synthesizer keyboards. As the MIDI standard had yet to be invented, Howarth manually synchronized the equipment to picture while listening to a copy of the film's dialogue. Initial inspirational directions which Carpenter shared with Howarth included albums by Tangerine Dream and The Police.

Waxwork Records is thrilled to present the expanded score album as a deluxe double LP featuring 180 gram colored vinyl, deluxe packaging, a 12"x12" twelve page booklet featuring unreleased behind-the-scenes set photography, and full album artwork by Marc Aspinall.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • "Statue Of Liberty" Colored Vinyl (Blue/Green/Black Marbled)
  • Double LP
  • Complete score album
  • Expanded & Remastered
  • Pre-mastered for vinyl by Thomas DiMuzio
  • Mastered for vinyl by Adam Gonsalves
  • Old style tip-on gatefold jacket
  • 12"x12" 12--page booklet
  • Unreleased behind-the-scenes set photography
  • Artwork by Marc Aspinall


Side A:

  1. Main Title
  2. The Bank Robbery
  3. "Prison Introduction"
  4. Over The Wall / Air Force One
  5. He's Still Alive / Romero
  6. Snake Plissken

Side B:

  1. Orientation
  2. "Tell Him"
  3. Engulfed Cathedral (Composed by Claude Debussy)
  4. Across The Roof
  5. Descent Into New York
  6. Back To The Pod (Version #1)

Side C:

  1. Everyone's Coming To New York (Written By Nick Castle)
  2. "Don't Go Down There!"
  3. Back To The Pod (Version #2) / The Crazies Come Out
  4. "I Heard You Were Dead!"
  5. Arrival At The Library
  6. "You Are The Duke Of New York"
  7. Duke Arrives / Barricade
  8. President At The Train
  9. "Who Are You?"
  10. Police Action

Side D:

  1. Romero And The President
  2. The President Is Gone
  3. 69th Street Bridge
  4. Over The Wall
  5. "The Name Is Plissken"
  6. Snake Shake / End Credits

Customers Also Like