Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Republic
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Bruce Springsteen
Format: 33RPM,


John Mellencamp Strictly a One-Eyed Jack LP

John Mellencamp

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

2022 Album on Vinyl LP!
Featuring Several Songs with Bruce Springsteen!

TAS Rated 4.5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the May/June 2022 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

"A long, long time ago / When I used to chase rainbows / I thought there was a pot of gold / When I got to the end / But there were many people there / And I said, 'What are you doing here?' / They said they were looking for the end of the rainbow," Mellencamp sings on his new song, "Chasing Rainbows," a single from his highly anticipated 25th studio album, Strictly a One-Eyed Jack.

While "Chasing Rainbows" is the first official single from the record, listeners got their first taste of Strictly a One-Eyed Jack in September 2021 when Mellencamp teamed up with Bruce Springsteen for the duet "Wasted Days," which also appears on the album.

"I worked on three songs on John's album and I spent some time in Indiana with him," Springsteen told Sirius XM's E Street Radio earlier this year. "I love John a lot. He's a great songwriter and I have become very close [with him] and had a lot of fun with him. I sang a little bit on his record."

Mellencamp shared two live albums in 2021 ahead of the full-length album. Lonely Street (Live 1984) arrived in May 2021 with a 17-song tracklist including "Shoot Out The Lights" and "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood." In August 2021, he shared The Good Samaritan Tour 2000 which included 12 songs across 43 minutes. It featured "All Along The Watchtower" and "In My Time Of Dying."

The latter album arrived alongside Mellencamp's documentary The Good Samaritan Tour 2000. The film was narrated by Matthew McConaughey, with special contributions by Nora Guthrie. It follows Mellencamp on his iconic 2000 tour in which he played free shows across the country.

More than most musicians of his commercial stature, John Mellencamp embodies the stubborn independence of an artist who unquestioningly follows his heart and his muse, and Strictly a One-Eyed Jack is the work of a man accepting the passage of time rather than fighting against it. As a songwriter and a performer, it's a gambit that works in his favor.
-Mark Deming,
Sung entirely from one character's seen-it-all POV, One-Eyed jack finds Mellencamp deploying a Dylanized, throaty twilight-years rasp to great, growly effect.
-Mike Mettler, The Absolute Sound, May/June 2022, Music 4.5/5, Sonics 4.5/5


  • Vinyl LP
  • Made in Czech Republic
  • Explicit Content


Side A:

  1. I Always Lie to Strangers
  2. Driving in the Rain
  3. I Am a Man That Worries
  4. Streets of Galilee
  5. Sweet Honey Brown
  6. Did You Say Such a Thing

Side B:

  1. Gone So Soon
  2. Wasted Days
  3. Simply a One-Eyed Jack
  4. Chasing Rainbows
  5. Lie to Me
  6. A Life Full of Rain

Customers Also Like