Johnny Cash And The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra LP

Johnny Cash And The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

12 Classic Johnny Cash Songs Reimagined With Stunning New Arrangements On Vinyl LP!
Recorded at Abbey Road Studios!

Produced by Nick Patrick and Don Reedman and recorded at the fabled Abbey Road Studio 2, Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is the latest in a series of RPO albums showcasing classic recordings by timeless artists in sublime new musical settings.

Producers Reedman and Patrick consulted with John Carter Cash, who serves as Executive Producer, in making the career-spanning selection of 12 Johnny Cash master recordings centering the album. Performances range from archetypal Cash classics like "Man In Black" and "Ring Of Fire" to essential musical collaborations including "Girl From The North Country" (Bob Dylan with Johnny Cash), "The Loving Gift" (with June Carter Cash) and "Highwayman" (with Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson and Johnny Cash).

Penned - and first recorded in 1977 - by American singer-songwriter Jimmy Webb, "Highwayman" became the title track for a 1979 Glen Campbell album and the inspiration behind The Highwaymen, an outlaw country supergroup (formed in 1984) featuring Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson. In 1985, Highwayman, the group's platinum-selling debut album hit #1 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart while their definitive version of "Highwayman" spent 20 weeks at #1 on the Billboard Hot Country Songs chart while earning Webb a Grammy Award for Best Country Song in 1986. "I love that original recording (by the Highwaymen)," says Jimmy Webb, "but as an arranger myself, I often wondered what it might sound like if Johnny Cash and his three bandmates had an orchestra and lush strings behind them. The fearless and precise Don Reedman put an end to my wondering: They sound spectacular with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra behind them. The production is exquisite and provides yet another life for this song that still goes 'round and 'round."

The track "Farther Along" captures the rapturous sound of guitar legend Duane Eddy living his fantasy of playing in Johnny Cash's band as he blends his signature twang into a new arrangement of a deep JC catalog gem. "I always dreamed of playing with John, because of Luther Perkins," says Eddy, acknowledging one of the architects of rockabilly; a key member of JC's band from 1954 until his death in 1968, Luther Perkins is credited with inventing Cash's "boom-chicka-boom" rhythmic trademark. "Luther and I lived in the same neighborhood, musically speaking (on the bass strings of the guitar), though somehow we managed to have our own sound and style," Eddy continues. "When Luther passed, I thought of calling Johnny and asking for a job to fill in for Luther. But then I decided I was being a bit too presumptuous. So I didn't do it. So thanks to Don and John Carter, I was able to realize my dream after all."

The recordings of "I Walk The Line" and "Flesh And Blood" used in making Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra are both previously unreleased alternate takes from Johnny Cash's soundtrack sessions for "I Walk The Line", a 1970 film starring Gregory Peck and Tuesday Weld.

"I believe we have captured the emotion, sensitivity and genuine honesty of Johnny Cash through his story telling and his touching and captivating vocal performances," says Don Reedman in his notes for Johnny Cash and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. "With his unique drama, warmth and tone, the bass baritone voice of this iconic artist Johnny Cash, blends beautifully with the stunning understated symphonic arrangements by the uniquely talented arranger Robin A. Smith and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra..... Making this album with my co-producer Nick Patrick has been a true labour of love, and I believe we have captured the complete spirit and musical message that makes Johnny Cash such a heart-touching and loved artist, whom we are so honored to serve in our way. Johnny Cash was a man of many emotions and the depth in the songs he sang and the message in those songs strikes a chord in all our hearts."

Nick Patrick adds, "All these things make up an extraordinary artist. An artist who told the truth, no matter what the consequences. An artist who spoke for the man in the street, who spoke for those with no voice. An artist whose faith spoke through his music. To have the opportunity to work on this album, on some of the most iconic recordings made has been beyond incredible. To feel so close to the voice is to somehow feel closer to the artist. It has been a truly amazing experience. When we were sitting and listening to songs to be considered on this record we realized what a rich body of work we had to draw on..... Making this album has been a life affirming experience, one I will never forget. We thank from the bottom of our hearts the Cash Family for entrusting us with it."

"My father, Johnny Cash, was in some ways an orchestra unto himself. His deep rich timbre lent to the rich resonance of French horns and cello. His depth of tone and perfect pitch inspired as deeply as a masterfully conducted symphony," writes John Carter Cash in his liner notes for the album. "But if he were here today and chose to seek an orchestra to support him as the backdrop for the canvas, The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra would be his choice..... I remember when my father introduced me to the RPO. I was around ten years old and he and I went to see three films from the James Bond saga at a festival in New York. When the theme for Goldfinger began, he leaned over to me. 'That's the finest orchestra in the world, son,' he said. 'That's the Royal Philharmonic.'.... He knew the music of the RPO. He respected them all throughout his life..... I know my father would be enormously excited to see this new album become a reality. I am beyond proud to introduce this masterwork, the essential work of Johnny Cash with the orchestra that he revered and appreciated above all else."


  • Vinyl LP
  • The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra recorded by Hayden Bendall at Abbey Road Studio 2


Side A:

  1. Man In Black
  2. Galway Bay
  3. Girl From The North Country (Bob Dylan with Johnny Cash)
  4. I Came To Believe
  5. A Thing Called Love
  6. The Loving Gift (with June Carter Cash)

Side B:

  1. I Walk The Line
  2. Farther Along (featuring Duane Eddy)
  3. Flesh And Blood
  4. The Gambler
  5. Ring Of Fire
  6. Highwayman (The Highwaymen: Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash)

Customers Also Like