The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Motown With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: A Symphony Of Soul LP

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Orchestral Renditions Of Marvin Gaye, Smokey Robinson, The Supremes, The Temptations & More!

A Symphony of Soul is a new album featuring tracks from the storied Motown catalog reimagined with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Produced by the Grammy-winning Brian Rawling (Cher, One Direction, Rod Stewart), the 11-track set gives a new dimension to some of Motown's best-loved songs. The new renditions use the original vocal performances by many of the label's most celebrated artists, including the Supremes, the Four Tops, the Temptations, and Smokey Robinson and the Miracles.

Two tracks also feature newly recorded vocals by distinguished British soul stars Mica Paris, who accompanies Jimmy Ruffin on his 1966 classic "What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted," and Beverley Knight, who sings alongside Marvin Gaye on his 1969 version of "Abraham, Martin & John."

The album was recorded with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at Mark Knopfler's British Grove Studios in west London. A Symphony of Soul complements the musicality of the songs with an orchestral backdrop set against the original vocal stems and parts, typically recorded on a mere four tracks compared to the almost limitless number available in modern recording. The treatments thus add a new layer to these timeless songs while remaining faithful to the beauty of the originals.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Made in Germany


Side A:

  1. Dancing In The Street - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
  2. Reach Out I'll Be There - The Four Tops
  3. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Marvin Gaye
  4. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted - Jimmy Ruffin with Mica Paris
  5. The Tears Of A Clown - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
  6. I'll Be There - The Jackson 5

Side B:

  1. I Hear A Symphony - The Supremes
  2. Abraham, Martin & John - Marvin Gaye with Beverley Knight
  3. My Girl - The Temptations
  4. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) - The Temptations
  5. With You I'm Born Again - Billy Preston & Syreeta

Customers Also Like