Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Johnny Cash Orange Blossom Special Numbered Limited Edition 200g LP

Johnny Cash

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Numbered, Limited Edition 200g Audiophile Vinyl! Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!
Special Edition Box Car Numbered Gatefold Jacket! Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Known throughout the world as one of the major figures of post-Hank Williams country music, Johnny Cash constantly sought to expand his musical horizons and avoid being pigeonholed. Cash was at his most engagingly eclectic on Orange Blossom Special recorded in 1964. For starters, The Man In Black covered three tunes by Bob Dylan, then the most talked-about young singer-songwriter of the dawning folk-rock era ("It Ain't Me Babe," "Don't Think Twice, it's Alright," and "Mama, You've Been On My Mind"). The Nashville musical establishment hardly embraced Dylan's mind-blowing lyrics, but Cash, knowing genius when he heard it, was the first major country star to cover Dylan's work. By the same token, he also rendered two number by A.P. Carter of the legendary Carter Family who, along with Jimmy Rodgers, created the musical template that's still the model for "traditional" country, bluegrass, and some forms of folk.

And Cash's unmistakable, tough-hewn baritone rendered the classic fiddle tune that is the title track, as well as "Danny Boy" (with a spoken work intro), the spiritual "Amen" and the traditional story-song "The Long Black Veil." Cash's compositions include "The Wall," one of the prison songs for which he is known, and the protest tune "All of God's Children Ain't Free." Orange Blossom Special (with liner notes by the artist and never-before seen archive photos) finds Cash backed by the Tennessee Two, his outstanding guitar/bass tandem of Luther Perkins and Marshall Grant, and guest appearances by such Nashville aces as Boots Randolph on tenor sax, pianists Floyd Cramer and Bill Pursell, guitarist Norman Blake, and harmonica ace Charlie McCoy. And on Johnny Horton's "When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below)," Cash is accompanied by the now familiar female voice of June Carter.

"...certainly rates as one of Cash's finer non-greatest-hits releases." -Richie Unterberger,

• Numbered Limited Edition
• Special Edition Box Car Numbered Gatefold Jacket
• Pressed at QRP
• 200g Vinyl
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• 28pt Gatefold Jacket
• Exhibit Records Audiophile Series

Johnny Cash
Luther Perkins
Marshall Grant
Boots Randolph
Floyd Cramer
Bill Pursell
Norman Blake
Charlie McCoy
June Carter (8)

Side One:

1. Orange Blossom Special
2. The Long Black Veil
3. It Ain't Me Babe
4. The Wall
5. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
6. You Wild Colorado
Side Two:
1. Mama, You've Been On My Mind
2. When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below)
3. All of God's Children Ain't Free
4. Danny Boy
5. Wildwood Flower
6. Amen

Customers Also Like