Genre: Blues
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Johnny Shines Standing at the Crossroads 180g LP

Johnny Shines

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Audio Beat Rated 5/5 Music, 3.5/5 Sound!

180g Vinyl Re-mastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

This is one of several albums this artist made in the early '70s that stand as a masterpiece of the acoustic country blues genre. Johnny Shines had begun recording in the mid-'60s, the albums done with electric guitar and full-combo backup, one of them reportedly cut after he hadn't picked up an instrument in years. It was as if he reinvented himself in the following decade, playing pristine and flawless acoustic slide guitar pieces complete with shuffling, stuttering, and stimulatingly complicated tempos. The message was that he had been a young sidekick to Robert Johnson and had absorbed everything, although no deal had been made with the Devil. Shines was a steady, dependable, religious, and forthright chap who lived in Tuscaloosa, AL, and held down a steady job as a construction foreman. Mild-mannered and extremely intellectual, he let loose the reserve of emotion when doing a Delta blues number. The magic and heart were in his fingertips as well as in his voice, which sounds stupendous here. The emergence of the Johnson song canon into his repertoire, done with almost Baroque detail, was also something of a revelation. Some of Shine's earlier albums had featured songs that almost seemed made up on the spot. He was good at that, and was rumored to have played whole sets hat were completely improvised when working the country juke joints of his home state, but on this album he showed what he could do when sinking his teeth into a bona fide blues classic. "Kind Hearted Woman" is the musical equivalent of an absolutely perfect shopped-barbecue sandwich with sauce the way they do it in Tuscaloosa, and obviously of much less offense to vegetarians when taken in this form. There were 11 perfect songs chosen by Pete Welding from his set of recording sessions for this project. Once again this great producer has come up with a blues release that is basically a required item for any good collection of this genre.

"[A]s if great music alone were not quite enough, the quality of the sound is equally impressive... Johnny Shines may not be a household name to many audiophiles, but to blues aficionados Shines is one of the true giants... Testament Records founder Pete Welding recorded Shines at his home in November of 1970. Shines plays 11 classic Mississippi Delta blues tunes and turns in one of the masterpieces of the genre. The recording is both intimate and raw. Remastered by Ray Staff of Air Studios, the reissue hues close to the sound of an early original. This is a treasure not to be missed." - Dennis Davis,, Music 5/5, Sound 3.5/5
Click Here to read the entire review!

Recorded November 11 & 17, 1970 at Altadena, California by Pete Welding

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Re-mastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering!

Johnny Shines, vocals, guitar

Side A:
1. Standing At the Crossroads
2. Milk Cow's Troubles
3. Death Hearse Blues
4. Drunken Man's Prayer
5. Hoo-Doo Snake Doctor Blues
6. It's A Lowdown Dirty Shame
Side B:
1. Your Troubles Can't Be Like Mine
2. Kind-Hearted Woman
3. Baby Sister Blues
4. My Rat
5. Don't Take A Country Woman

Customers Also Like