Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers LP

Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1977 Album Reissued on Vinyl LP!

Jonathan Richman formed The Modern Lovers in 1970 in Boston with Jerry Harrison (Talking Heads), Ernie Brooks and David Robinson (The Cars). The band recorded a series of demos, first with John Cale (The Velvet Underground) and later with producer Kim Fowley. Both sets of demos were eventually released, but not until the original group had disbanded.

In 1975 Jonathan relocated to California and secured a recording deal with Beserkley Records. By 1976 he had pulled together a new version of The Modern Lovers. This group included the holdover David Robinson from the original band and added, Leroy Radcliffe and Greg 'Curly' Keranen (The Rubinoos). The self-titled release delivered on Richman's desire for more acoustic and harmony-based material. Unfortunately, nearly on top of the bands' debut album release, the earlier demo material drawn mostly from the Cale demo sessions was issued, and Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers was overshadowed by "Pablo Picasso," "Roadrunner," and their - now classic - "debut." Shortly after the release of their actual self-titled debut, Robinson departed to join The Cars.

Needing a new drummer, the band found D. Sharpe (later of the Carla Bley Band) and this new lineup recorded Rock 'n' Roll with the Modern Lovers, which was released in 1977 and achieved some chart success in Europe with "Egyptian Reggae" making it to #5 on the U.K. Singles Chart. Greil Marcus called it "the purist rock and roll album I've heard this year." However, another in the series of personnel changes, Keranen left the group. Modern Lovers 'Live' followed in 1978 with new bassist Asa Brebner.

While the U.S. might not have caught on to the magic of Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers, the U.K. certainly did. Recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon, 'Live' features Jonathan and the Modern Lovers performing classics from their first two releases to an enthusiastic crowd. The set included the recent Top 5 U.K. single "Egyptian Reggae," as well as tracks from The Modern Lovers' previous releases, plus an eight-minute version of "Ice Cream Man."

1979's Back in Your Life marked the end of any original versions of The Modern Lovers and closed the Beserkley era with Jonathan stepping back from music for a few years after its release.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Made in USA


Side One:

  1. Rockin' Shopping Center
  2. Back In The U.S.A.
  3. Important In Your Life
  4. New England
  5. Lonely Financial Zone

Side Two:

  1. Hi Dear
  2. Abominable Snowman In The Market
  3. Hey There Little Insect
  4. Here Come The Martian Martians
  5. Springtime
  6. Amazing Grace

Customers Also Like