Genre: Christmas
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Josh Rouse The Holiday Sounds of Josh Rouse LP + Bonus 12" (Red Vinyl)

Josh Rouse

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Unique Holiday Music On Red Vinyl LP + Bonus 12"!
Limited Edition Bonus 12" Contains 3 Holiday Classics & 3 Demos From The Album!

Josh Rouse has recorded an album of original holiday songs, which all feel like a classic 60s jazz-influenced holiday album (think Vince Guaraldi, A Charlie Brown Christmas). This music should appeal to two audiences: Josh Rouse fans and holiday music fans.

The Holiday Sounds of Josh Rouse features beautiful harmonies and gentle, bright melodies wrapped in the lush, folk/pop soundscapes that have become his signature. The album illustrates themes of childhood nostalgia and holidays spent away from home, with lighthearted, upbeat instrumentals that make these songs enjoyable year-round. From the rollicking "Sleigh Brother Bill" to the reflective "Letters In The Mailbox" and the dreamy closing track, "Christmas Songs", Josh Rouse is redefining what holiday music can be. The album is produced by Brad Jones and Josh Rouse.

The First Edition release, on red vinyl, includes a bonus LP featuring 3 Christmas classics performed acoustically + 3 demo versions of songs from the album.

Full of pure sentiments, from nostalgia and mirth to melancholy and heartbreak, Josh Rouse's holiday album is too cool for Yule. Including nine original tunes written over several years, Rouse's decision to mostly avoid typically wintry sounds gives him the freedom to approach the holidays with his personal style. Emphasizing acoustic, or barely electric, arrangements, the band - including returning producer and keyboardist Brad Jones, bassist James Haggerty and musician-brothers Marc and Joe Pisapia - is as nimble as Santa's helpers. Opener 'Mediterranean X-Mas' has its roots in Rouse's many years in Spain, while 'Letters in the Mailbox' is a Chris Isaak-style lament. 'Lights of Town' quotes the 'Baby Just Cares for Me' bass and piano and feels, along with several other songs and the cover art, like something from the first few seasons of 'Mad Men.' 'Easy Man' is about enjoying domestic bliss without quite slipping into docility, while 'Heartbreak Holiday' is a chirpy take about getting dumped. The songs here sound like they could have been included on any of Rouse's excellent 'regular' releases. It's what makes them so enjoyable and fitting for many occasions.
-Pablo Gorondi,


  • Red Vinyl LP
  • Limited Edition Bonus 6-track 12"
  • Gold foil stamping on front and back of jacket
  • Limited time digital download


Side A:
  1. Mediterranean X-Mas
  2. Red Suit
  3. New York Holiday
  4. Easy Man
  5. Sleigh Brother Bill
Side B:
  1. Lights Of Town
  2. Letters In The Mailbox
  3. Heartbreak Holiday
  4. Christmas Songs

Bonus 12"

Side A:
  1. All I Want For Christmas (Mariah Carey Cover)
  2. Up On The Housetop
  3. Let It Snow
Side B:
  1. Red Suit (Demo)
  2. Easy Man (Demo)
  3. Heartache Holiday (Demo)

Customers Also Like