Genre: Alternative
Label: Elektra
Format: 45RPM,


KALEO Surface Sounds 45rpm 2LP (White Vinyl)


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Icelandic Rock Band On 45rpm White Vinyl 2LP!
Featuring "Break My Baby", "I Want More", "Alter Ego" & "Backbone"!
Includes Etched Design On 4th Side!

As the driving creative force behind KALEO, one of Iceland's most successful musical exports, JJ Julius Son generally looks forward - to the next recording session, the next gig, the next source of inspiration. So, when asked to look back, he is truly moved by how successful and epic the journey has already been, just one album deep into his career on the international stage.

In just three short years, KALEO has scored a trifecta of global hits, including the churning No. 1 alternative track "Way Down We Go"; received a GRAMMY nomination for the hard-hitting strutter "No Good"; and watched its first album for Atlantic Records, 2016's A/B, go gold. The band has toured the world, from sweaty nightclubs filled with diehard fans to mammoth crowds at Coachella, Bonnaroo and Lollapalooza. KALEO has even played vast stadiums, seducing thousands of Rolling Stones fans with its majestic rock sound, Julius Son's towering, blues-inflected vocals and singular guitar licks. "Everybody else says look how far you've come," says the singer-songwriter-multi-instrumentalist-producer of these milestones. "But you've got to walk every small step of the way, so it doesn't feel like you've come that far because there's so many steps."

Every bit of that lived experience is packed into his next big step: KALEO's latest album Surface Sounds (Elektra/Atlantic).

It is a sly title given the layers of meaning that it holds for Julius Son. From the found sounds of the "surface" around him that he interpolated into the songs - from birds singing to the ambient noise of Icelandic waterfalls - to the initial feelings that sparked each track, the 29-year-old sought inspiration in both the tangible world around him and the emotional one within. But there is more to it than that. "It's a take on how much we tend to focus on the surface," he says in a time where curation of image can feel more important than the depth of true human connection. "There's so much more beneath that."

KALEO eagerly dives into that deeper layer for the music on Surface Sounds which offers a spectrum of sounds that take full advantage of Julius Son's powerful pipes. (KALEO means "the voice" in Hawaiian and never has a band been more aptly named.)

From the walloping guitar jam "Alter Ego" to the weary-yet-hopeful acoustic gentleness of "My Fair Lady" to the whimsical "Hey Gringo" - which finds Julius Son exploring a playful vibe and the sexy contours of his falsetto - Surface Sounds never repeats itself while still managing to retain a cohesive vibe.

The album's variety of sounds and imagery, from lighthearted to solemn, comes naturally, says Julius Son. "I think that's just me growing up as a musician and as a listener. The songs cry out for a certain sound and then I have to go and serve the song."

What he isn't interested in is serving up the meanings behind the tracks, preferring to leave interpretation up to the listener.

"My favorite thing is that we, as individuals, do interpret music so differently," he adds. "That's what is so magical: watching how people listen and seeing these songs take on new meanings based on mood or the world around us" In closing, he shares of the overarching concept of Surface Sounds, "I simply hope it makes you feel. If so, that's amazing and goes beyond the surface."


  • 45rpm
  • Double LP
  • White Vinyl
  • 3 sides of music
  • Custom etched design on 4th side
  • Gatefold jacket


Side 1:

  1. Brother Run Fast
  2. Break My Baby
  3. Alter Ego

Side 2:

  1. Free The Slave
  2. Skinny
  3. Hey Gringo
  4. My Fair Lady

Side 3:

  1. I Want More
  2. Backbone
  3. I Walk On Water
  4. Into My Mother's Arms

Side 4:

Custom Etching

Customers Also Like