Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Ken Peplowski Gypsy Jazz Band Gypsy Lament Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Ken Peplowski Gypsy Jazz Band

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

"Ken Peplowski has long shown interest in a number of different jazz styles, but this CD is his first strictly Gypsy swing session. Recruiting two of the most versatile guitarists for the date, Bucky Pizzarelli and Howard Alden, veterans Frank Tate on bass and Chuck Redd on drums, and the promising young violinist Aaron Weinstein (on selected tracks), Peplowski alternates between tenor sax and clarinet, covering a set list that is mostly drawn from the Quintet of the Hot Club of France and postwar Django Reinhardt records. The reed player showcases both instruments in his delightful take of "Please," overlapping them in spots via overdubbing. Peplowski takes a back seat to the two guitarists in "Nuages," with Pizzarelli taking the opening solo (easily identified by anyone who has heard him play this standard in person) and Alden following the leader's feature. Weinstein takes part in the chugging "Minor Swing," sounding very mature for his tender years. "Anouman" is one of Reinhardt's gems from near the end of his life; surprisingly, it is infrequently performed. Peplowski's lyrical, spacious clarinet is a highlight of this moving rendition. This enjoyable tribute to Django Reinhardt merits a follow-up CD. One minor beef: unless one can read the Japanese-only liner notes, it is nearly impossible to tell which guitarist is soloing on several selections; presumably the duties are shared. " -


• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Ken Peplowski, tenor sax & clarinet
Bucky Pizzarelli, guitar
Howard Alden, guitar
Arron Weinstein, violin
Frank Tate, bass
Chuck Redd, drums

1. Topsy
2. Anouman
3. Crepuscule
4. Tears
5. I'm Confessin'
6. Minor Swing
7. Solitude
8. Nymphedus
9. Please
10. Nuages
11. I've Had My Moments
12. Time On My Hands

Recorded at The Studio in New York on November 23 & 24, 2007

Customers Also Like