Genre: Reggae
Label: Clocktower
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


King Tubby Dub from the Roots LP

King Tubby

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming November 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes!

There are very few individuals who command the respect of dub aficionados greater than "The Dubmaster" himself, King Tubby. On Tubby's venerable 1974 release, Dub from the Roots, he introduces us to the "Shalom Dub," a method of mixing flying cymbals with horns in what he describes as "going in and out in a dub way." Borrowing from the forty-fives of Johnny Clarke, Jackie Edwards, Cornell Campbell, John Holt, and Horace Andy, King Tubby takes the listener on a journey through a vast array of different emotions, rhythms and soundscapes. One of the standout cuts, "Iyahta" explores Tubby's use of deep electric basslines to evoke a melodic calmness in the listener, while "Mine Field" and "Hijack the Barber" bring you back with the cavernous echoes of stabbing guitars, horns, and cymbals. Though previously released by different labels on a variety of dusty pressings and formats, Clocktower's reissue of Dub from the Roots is the definitive edition of this "Dubmaster" classic, featuring audio mastered from the original analog tapes.

Dub from the Roots is an excellent example of Tubby's brilliant mastery of the mixing board and use of production as an invaluable instrument in and of itself. The compilation's 14 tracks swim in the grainy, glorious wash of reverb and delay that defined early dub, with Tubby isolating the various elements of the songs in a nearly scientific manner, dissecting classic rhythms and reshaping them into new, exciting forms track after track.
-Fred Thomas,, 4/5 stars


  • Audio Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes
  • Vinyl LP


Side 1:

  1. Dub from the Roots
  2. Iyahta
  3. Mine Field
  4. Hijack the Barber
  5. African Roots
  6. Double Cross
  7. East of (Arrows Hi-Fi)

Side 2:

  1. Invasion
  2. Dub of a Woman
  3. Dub on My Mind
  4. Steeling
  5. Dub Experience
  6. Declaration of Dub
  7. A Truthful Dub

Customers Also Like