Kirsten Edkins Shapes & Sound 180g LP

Kirsten Edkins

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

AAA 180g Vinyl LP!
Debut LP from Kevin Gray's Cohearent Records!
Vintage Sound on a Modern Recording!
Pressed at RTI!

After spending 15 years building the gear for his new endeavor, Cohearent Records — which is an All-Valve (Vacuum Tube) recording system from microphones to disk cutterhead — award-winning mastering engineer Kevin Gray releases the first LP by jazz saxophonist Kirsten Edkins, Shapes & Sound.

Kirsten Edkins, a young composer and saxophonist from Los Angeles, is an exciting prospect. Kirsten graduated from Eastman School of Music on scholarship. She studied composition and arranging with Bill Dobbins, as well as Walt Weiskopf and the legendary Ray Ricker. Before her time at Eastman she studied with Bob Sheppard, a jazz recording artist and woodwind specialist.

Kirsten is a highly sought-after improviser and has performed with Arturo Sandoval (Al "Tootie" Heath), Tim Hagans, Clay Jenkins, John Beasley and Geoffrey Keezer. She has also performed with the Clare Fischer Big Band, Bill Holman Big Band, Bernie Dresel Big Band (The BBB), Sara Gazarek, Gary Foster, Joe LaBarbara, Larry Goldings and Clay Jenkins. Kirsten has appeared on television shows such as American Idol, Duets, Knight Rider, Glee, Bones and The Tonight Show.

A motivational music educator, Kirsten's associations include Cal State Fullerton's Stanford Jazz Workshop, Saddleback College and Golden West College. Kirsten has been educating and encouraging young musicians in her private studio for more than 14 years. She also directs the American Jazz Institute's Community Outreach and teaches saxophone at Occidental College in Eagle Rock.

Kirsten is joined on Shapes & Sound by Gerald Clayton (courtesy of Blue Note) on piano, Ahmet Turkmenoglu on bass, Lemar Guillary on trombone and Chris Wabich on drums.

The mixes put Clayton's piano center stage, with Edkins stage right (left channel), Wabich stage left (right channel) and bassist Turkmenoglu in the same central plane as Clayton. It's a classic recording with all of the glorious microphone leakage there, giving you the room sound you both crave and deserve. If you start with the final track, Wabich's 'Hula Hoop' when you hear Turkmenoglu's stand-up bass actually sounding like a stand-up bass playing in a room, with its attack and timbral character so naturally presented, you'll realize how rarely contemporary recordings manage what Gray gets on tape here. And a shout out also to all of the musicians for their willingness to record this way!
-Michael Fremer, Tracking Angle, Music 8/10, Sound 11/10
Shapes and Sounds is not only highly entertaining, it had me yearning for more as I have to wonder what might be next as this quintet continues to evolve and mature. The writing skills and musicianship are clearly all there. The sound quality is top notch and possibly one of the most impressive LPs in my entire collection. This is a studio and a group to keep your eyes and ears on for what might be presented in the future!
-Robert S. Youman, Positive Feedback


  • AAA Recording
  • 180g Vinyl
  • First Release on Kevin Gray's Cohearent Records
  • Recorded All-Valve from Microphones to Cutterhead, Straight to 2-Track Stereo Tape
  • Mixed Live to Tape
  • Cut Directly from the Master Tapes
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Deluxe Tip-On Gatefold Jacket
  • 12" Full-Color 2-Sided Insert with the "Story" + Photos of All the Gear & Recording Details
  • Pressed at RTI


Kirsten Edkins sax
Gerald Clayton piano
Ahmet Turkmenoglu bass
Lemar Guillary trombone
Chris Wabich drums


Side One:

  1. Party Slug
  2. Bird Shapes
  3. Dedicated to You
  4. The Goose

Side Two:

  1. Sweet Pickles
  2. Wuhoo
  3. Proprietary Minor
  4. Hula Hoo

Customers Also Like