Krystian Zimerman Beethoven: Complete Concertos 180g 5LP Box Set

Krystian Zimerman

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set!
Exceptional New Interpretation Recorded With Sir Simon Rattle & The London Symphony Orchestra!

Krystian Zimerman, Sir Simon Rattle and Ludwig van Beethoven: three exceptional musicians and five great piano concertos are brought together for a landmark recording. Over 30 years ago, in 1989, Krystian Zimerman and Leonard Bernstein recorded Beethoven's Piano Concertos Nos. 3, 4 and 5. They were united in their total dedication to music - in mind, heart and soul - resulting in an exceptional recording. Sadly, Bernstein died before the cycle was recorded in completion. Zimerman went on to conduct the remaining Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 from the keyboard in 1991.

"The impression Bernstein's approach to music made on me was very clear," Zimerman says. "He gave me the courage and confidence to be daring with my interpretations, trying out musical ideas that were completely new. [...] I have found almost the same approach, however, in one other conductor: Simon Rattle. It's as if he becomes the music himself - and Bernstein was exactly the same. I never thought of Bernstein 'conducting' a piece: you thought it's his piece, he's composing the moment he's on stage with it. There's a similarity with Simon: what happens in the concert is not necessarily the same as what happened in the rehearsal. We'll set up a frame of functioning, but he knows that I at any moment can snap and I know that he at any moment can follow it, and vice versa. When I make a joke, he does not let me get away with this - I will get it back in the next two minutes!"

The unique rapport between Krystian Zimerman and Sir Simon Rattle is based upon years of shared ideals and mutual respect. Gramophone described their partnership as 'a thing of wonder', praising their 'thrilling sense of purpose'.

Now, 30 years after his first recordings, Zimerman returns to Beethoven's Piano Concertos. He offers an exceptional new interpretation recorded with Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra. This release is among the biggest highlights to conclude the Beethoven anniversary celebrations.

"You can play these concertos all your life and still be hungry for them," says Zimerman of the Beethoven piano concertos. His new recording, made under socially distanced conditions during the Covid pandemic, offers a joyous tribute to the composer at the end of his 250th anniversary year. It also celebrates Zimerman and Rattle's inspiring musical partnership. Rattle says: "There's a feeling of complete natural communication."


  • 5LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Box with lift-off lid
  • Made in the EU


Krystian Zimerman piano
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle conductor


Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1827)

LP 1
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in C major op. 15
  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Largo
  3. Rondo. Allegro
LP 2
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in B flat major op. 19
  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Adagio
  3. Rondo. Molto allegro
LP 3
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C minor op. 37
  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Largo
  3. Rondo. Allegro - Presto
LP 4
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G major op. 58
  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Andante con moto
  3. Rondo. Vivace
LP 5
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in E flat major "Emperor" op. 73
  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio un poco moto
  3. Rondo. Allegro

Customers Also Like