Lady Blackbird Black Acid Soul (Deluxe Edition) 2LP

Lady Blackbird

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Deluxe Edition Double LP!
Jazz Singer's Critically Acclaimed 2021 Debut Album!
Includes Second Disc of Bonus Tracks & Remixes!

With a voice that has stopped critics in their tracks, Lady Blackbird (aka Marley Munroe) is a revelatory talent with music that transcends the jazz scene through which the LA-based artist is rooted. Reflecting influences as varied as Billie Holiday, Gladys Knight, Tina Turner and Chaka Khan, with critics drawing comparisons to Adele, Amy and Celeste, Lady Blackbird's distinct and beguiling talent is not one to be missed.

Honoring the greats has come as a musical process to Lady Blackbird, having recorded her highly anticipated 2021 debut album Black Acid Soul in legendary Studio B (Prince's room) in Sunset Sound, produced by Grammy-nominated Chris Seefried.

Minimal yet rich, classic yet timely, the album connects backwards to Miles Davis (his pianist, Deron Johnson, plays Steinway Baby Grand, Mellotron and Casio Synth throughout) and forwards to Pete Tong (he made the Bruise mix of "Collage" his Number Two Essential Selection tune of 2020) and, yes, Victoria Beckham - Matthew Herbert's remix of second single "Beware The Stranger" soundtracked the designer's Spring/Summer 2020 Fashion show.

Its 11 tracks have a sound, feeling and attitude that speak of Lady Blackbird's deep experiences in music.

Are you ready to fly with Lady Blackbird?

...when, on 'Fix It,' Blackbird adds lyrics to Bill Evans' 'Piece Peace,' you hear a through line between two artists who, while using light brushstrokes and exercising restraint, can really level you.
-Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, January 2022, Music 4/5, Sonics 4.5/5
This is heady, haunting, sexy, soulful, heartbreaking stuff. With a voice that suggests a cross between Mahalia Jackson and Nina Simone, Lady Blackbird tears your heart apart and puts it back together again... We'll be talking about this debut for many years to come.
-Frank Alkyer, Downbeat
Black Acid Soul is a potent record that, without sounding self-consciously retro, harks back to an era before AutoTune and Pro Tools.
-John Bungey, LondonJazz News
The real jaw-dropper is a dramatic reworking of Joe Walsh's 1969 psych-rock opus 'Collage.' If you know the original which appeared on the first LP by Walsh's original band The James Gang you'll be a bit gobsmacked by this wistful moody reinvention.
-Mark Smotroff, Audiophile Review
It is not just that Munroe has a powerful vocal, or that she can convey great, centuries-old pain and struggle, but that she can eke out nuance from every turn of phrase; it is often possible to read her delivery of a single word in multiple ways, she layers such meaning into her performance. Munroe realises that there is more to be said by someone who can tear the house down with ease, when they choose not to.
-Max Pilley, Loud And Quiet
Munroe finds a spellbinding balance between acoustic jazz and live small group soul ... there's an immediacy and warmth to the album that feels all her own.
-Matt Collar, AllMusic
...utterly haunting.
-Alexis Petridis, The Guardian


  • Deluxe Edition
  • Double LP
  • LP1: Original Album
  • LP2: Bonus Tracks & Remixes
  • Gatefold Sleeve with Spot Gloss
  • Manufactured in the Republic of Ireland


Lady Blackbird vocals
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews trumpet
Chris Seefried electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Deron Johnson Steinway baby grand, mellotron, Casio synth
Jon Flaugher double bass
Jimmy Paxson drums, percussion


Side A:

  1. Blackbird
  2. It's Not That Easy
  3. Fix It
  4. Ruler Of My Heart
  5. Nobody's Sweetheart

Side B:

  1. Collage
  2. Five Feet Tall
  3. Lost And Looking
  4. It'll Never Happen Again
  5. Beware The Stranger
  6. Black Acid Soul

Side C:

  1. Did Somebody Make a Fool Out of You
  2. I Am What I Am
  3. Woman
  4. Feel It Comin
  5. Baby I Just Don't

Side D:

  1. Beware the Stranger (Chris Seefried Remix)
  2. Collage (Greg Foat Remix)
  3. Blackbird (Emma-Jean Thackray Remix)
  4. Lost and Looking (Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy Cosmodelica Remix)
  5. Collage (Bruise Remix)

Customers Also Like