Genre: Pop Rock
Label: ADA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Laura Marling Alas I Cannot Swim 180g LP

Laura Marling

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Ribbon Music releases remastered deluxe re-issue of this acclaimed album by Laura Marling.

Alas I Cannot Swim was the young British singer/songwriter’s debut album originally released in 2008. The recording features contributions by Charlie Fink & Tom Hobden (Noah and The Whale) and Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons).

Since her emergence on to the London music scene in 2007, Laura Marling has steadily secured her position as one of the most exciting musical talents of her generation. By the tender age of 21 she has already won a BRIT award and been nominated for the UK Mercury Music prize twice. While so many artists of any age attempt to locate their inner child, Marling, with a sometime steely gaze, measures the prerogatives of youth against the looming realities of adulthood - the specter of mortality, the betrayals of love, the balm of sex, the yearning for companionship, the need for independence. As the Times of London recently posted, "Who else is making music as ambitious, as haunting, as centuries-straddling, as thought-provoking and artistically tenacious as this? An the answer is: nobody. No, really. Not a soul."

Marling, who started out - briefly but auspiciously - with a stint in the group Noah and the Whale, was a mere 16 when she independently released her first singles and almost immediately gained serious stature as a key figure on Britain's burgeoning young folk scene, alongside such artists and friends as singer-actor Johnny Flynn and Mumford & Sons. The two startlingly self-assured albums that followed - Alas I Cannot Swim (2008) and I Speak Because I Can (2010) - brought the self-effacing and relatively shy Marling an extraordinary level of acclaim in her homeland, with each of them in turn being nominated for the U.K.'s prestigious Mercury Prize.

• 180g Vinyl
• Deluxe gatefold jacket
• Limited time MP3 download code
• Remastered for this reissue

Side A:

1. Ghosts
2. Old Stone
3. Tap At My Window
4. Failure
5. You're No God
6. Cross Your Fingers
7. Crawled Out of the Sea (Interlude)
Side B:
1. My Manic and I
2. Night Terror
3. The Captain and the Hourglass
4. Shine
5. Your Only Doll (Dora)

Customers Also Like