Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Laura Nyro Trees of the Ages: Laura Nyro Live in Japan 2LP (Yellow Vinyl)

Laura Nyro

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Laura Nyro Live in Concert in 1994 on Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl 2LP!
Includes Live Versions of the Classics "And When I Die," "Wedding Bell Blues," "Save the Country" & More!

A member of both the Songwriters and Rock & Roll Halls of Fame, Laura Nyro not only wrote songs that became hits for acts including The 5th Dimension, Blood, Sweat & Tears, Three Dog Night, Barbra Streisand, and many more, but has been cited as a major influence by Kate Bush, Elton John, Elvis Costello, Cyndi Lauper, Todd Rundgren, Broadway composer Stephen Schwartz (Godspell, Wicked), and countless others. She recorded 10 studio albums (one released posthumously), but a live performance from Nyro was always an event.

Originally issued only in Japan as Live in Japan in 2003, these 16 tracks recorded at Kintetsu Hall, plus 5 recorded at On Air West return as Trees of the Ages: Laura Nyro Live in Japan. From Nyro-penned hits including "And When I Die," "Wedding Bell Blues," and "Save the Country," to covers of Bacharach/David, Smokey Robinson, and Phil Spector classics, Trees of the Ages is an essential document of Laura's February 1994 historic visit to Japan. With Laura on piano and vocals, with harmonies by Diane Wilson, Dian Sorrell, Diane Garisto, the performances are sublime.

Newly remastered by Grammy®-winner Michael Graves, and produced for release by Grammy®-winner Cheryl Pawelski and George Gilbert with the approval of The Laura Nyro Trust, the packaging contains updated artwork and new liner notes from author and musician John Kruth.

Looking and sounding incredible, this essential addition to Nyro's discography cements the legend of the incomparable Laura Nyro.

Usually, I'd say this is for completists & dedicated fans. Not here. These songs should appeal to anyone who appreciates the work of the incomparable Laura Nyro & her vivid performances (often just piano & Laura's 3-octave mezzo-soprano vocal)... Her original song titles intrigue & lyrics are not always literate they explore feeling, groove, musical heat — all-important to Nyro. There isn't a bad song in this set.
-John Apice, Americana Highways
Her live shows, as those who were there know well, were unlike most other concerts in that she wasn't performing the songs. This was entertainment, but much more. She inhabited each song fully, and gave it voice. Onstage she beamed with a beautifully zen state of calm, as the music – replete with her warm, jazz-fed chords, streetwise lyricism and her soul singing – shone like moonglow. Laura Nyro got older, but she never got old. Her songs never have aged at all. They are truly timeless.
-Paul Zollo, American Songwriter


  • Limited Edition
  • Double LP
  • Yellow Vinyl
  • Originally Issued Only in Japan as Live in Japan in 2003
  • Remastered by Michael Graves
  • Produced for Release by Cheryl Pawelski & George Gilbert with the approval of The Laura Nyro Trust
  • Updated Artwork
  • New Liner Notes from Author & Musician John Kruth
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in the U.S.A.


Side One:

  1. Dedicated to the One I Love
  2. Ooh Baby Baby
  3. A Woman of the World
  4. Louise's Church
  5. Lite a Flame (The Animal Rights Song)

Side Two:

  1. Walk the Dog & Light the Light (Song of the Road)
  2. The Japanese Restaurant Song
  3. And When I Die
  4. To a Child
  5. The Descent of Luna Rosé
  6. Wild World

Side Three:

  1. Save the Country
  2. Wedding Bell Blues
  3. Trees of the Ages / Emmie
  4. Walk on By
  5. Let It Be Me
  6. Oh Yeah Maybe Baby (The Heebie Jeebies)

Side Four:

  1. Wind
  2. Broken Rainbow
  3. My Innocence / Sophia
  4. Art of Love

Customers Also Like