Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Laura Nyro More Than A New Discovery LP (Violet Vinyl)

Laura Nyro

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

1967 Debut Album On Violet Vinyl LP!
Incredibly Rare Original Mono Mix!
Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios!
Limited To 1250 Copies!

Seldom has the title of a debut album been more apt than the one that graced Laura Nyro's 1967 release, More Than a New Discovery. This was not the mere first foray of a budding talent. Instead, More Than A New Discovery introduced a fully-realized, remarkably mature (at the age of 19!) singer-songwriter whose singular fusion of pop, jazz, R&B, soul, Broadway and folk sounds created some of the most beloved songs in modern popular music.

Now, Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records are proud to reissue, for the first time ever on vinyl (and in homage to Laura's favorite color), More Than A New Discovery in a limited violet vinyl edition limited to 1250 copies. Which, ordinarily, would be news enough! But there's more to the story. First of all, More Than A New Discovery, originally released on Verve Folkways in 1967, premiered the songs that Barbra Streisand, Blood Sweat and Tears and The 5th Dimension would all take up the charts, including "Stoney End", "And When I Die", "Blowin' Away", and perhaps the most famous song Nyro ever wrote, "Wedding Bell Blues". But both the Verve Forecast and, later, Columbia labels reissued this record as The First Songs with new artwork, a different song order and added reverb.

This limited edition restores the original cover art and album sequence, and, even better, offers the incredibly rare, dedicated mono mix--according to Felix Cavaliere of The Rascals, Laura's preferred mode of audio reproduction--from the very first version of the album as remastered from the original tapes by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios, with lacquer cutting by Clint Holley at Well Made Music. And, Real Gone has added an insert featuring photos and notes by The Second Disc's Joe Marchese that place the record in context of Nyro's remarkable career.

One of the most momentous vinyl reissues in many a moon!


  • Limited Edition - 1250 Copies
  • Pressed on Violet Vinyl - Laura's favorite color
  • First time reissued on vinyl
  • Reissued in its dedicated mono mix for the first time since original 1967 release - Laura's preferred version
  • Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios
  • Lacquer cutting by Clint Holley at Well Made Music
  • Original album sequence
  • Original album jacket art
  • Bonus insert with liner notes by The Second Disc's Joe Marchese and additional photos


Side I:

  1. Goodbye Joe
  2. Billy's Blues
  3. And When I Die
  4. Stoney End
  5. Lazy Susan
  6. Hands Off The Man

Side II:

  1. Wedding Bell Blues
  2. Buy And Sell
  3. He's A Runner
  4. Blowin' Away
  5. I Never Meant To Hurt You
  6. California Shoeshine Boys

Customers Also Like