Genre: Jazz
Label: Pure Pleasure
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Laurindo Almeida & Bud Shank Brazilliance 180g LP

Laurindo Almeida & Bud Shank

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Re-mastered by Steve Hoffman & Kevin Gray! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

More than seven years before Stan Getz and Charlie Byrd introduced the bossa nova of Antonio Carlos Jobim to American audiences, guitarist Laurindo Almeida and altoist Bud Shank (in a quartet with bassist Harry Babasin and drummer Roy Harte) recorded the intriguing music heard on this LP. The performances are very close to bossa nova in their combination of cool-toned jazz and Brazilian rhythms; in fact, these are arguably the first bossa nova recordings, long before even Jobim and Joao Gilberto initially recorded. Only four of the 14 tunes are not based on Brazilian folk songs, and many of the songs (particularly "Carinoso") are quite memorable. This historically significant, very accessible, and highly recommended release is a gem.

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Remastered by Steve Hoffman & Kevin Gray
• Produced by Richard Bock
• Recorded in 1954

Laurindo Almeida, concert guitar
Bud Shank, alto saxophone
Harry Babasin, bass
Roy Harte, drums

1. Atabaque
2. Amor Flamenco
3. Stairway to the Stars
4. Acercate Mas
5. Terra Seca
6. Speak Low
7. Inquietacao
8. Baa-Too-Kee
9. Carinoso
10. Tocata
11. Hazardous
12. Nono
13. Noctambulism
14. Blue Baiao

Customers Also Like