Lee 'Scratch' Perry and Friends Open the Gate Numbered Limited Edition 180g Import 3LP (Orange Vinyl)

Lee 'Scratch' Perry & Friends

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Audiophile Vinyl Triple LP!
Numbered, Limited Edition Orange Vinyl - 2,500 Copies!

The Jamaican dub pioneer Lee "Scratch" Perry had the ability to attract some of the best musicians around to indulge in their fantasies. He knew how to draw the best out of those who wandered by their studios. The 1989 compilation album Open the Gate is a collection of the 12" versions Lee Perry did in the late Black Ark period. For the recordings, he gathered some of the best singers of the island, including Anthony "Sangie" Davis, The Heptones, Leroy Sibbles, The Diamonds, The Congos, Junior Murvin and of course Perry's studio band The Upsetters amongst others.

The 3LP Open the Gate is available as a limited edition of 2,500 individually numbered copies on orange colored vinyl and includes three printed inner sleeves.


  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • 3LP
  • Three Printed Inner Sleeves
  • Import
  • Made in the Netherlands
  • Limited Edition of 2,500 Individually Numbered Copies on Orange Vinyl


Side One:

  1. Words - Anthony 'Sangie' Davis & Lee Perry
  2. Vampire - Devon Irons & Doctor Alimantado

Side Two:

  1. Babylon Falling - The Heptones / Version - The Upsetters
  2. Mistry Babylon - The Heptones / Version - The Upsetters
  3. Garden of Life - Leroy Sibbles

Side Three:

  1. History - Carlton Jackson
  2. Sons of Slaves - Junior Delgado
  3. Open the Gate - Watty Burnett

Side Four:

  1. Talk About It - The Diamonds / Yama-Ky - The Upsetters
  2. Cherry Oh Baby - Eric Donaldson
  3. Rainy Night in Portland - Watty Burnett

Side Five:

  1. Ruffer Ruff - Horace Smart / Ruffer Dub - The Upsetters
  2. Neckodeemus - The Congos
  3. Know Love - The Twin Roots

Side Six:

  1. City Too Hot - Lee Perry
  2. Bionic Rats - Lee Perry
  3. Bad Weed - Junior Murvin