Genre: Blues
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Lightnin' Hopkins California Mudslide (And Earthquake) LP (Root Beer Vinyl)

Lightnin' Hopkins

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Root Beer Vinyl LP!

Seismic specimens of 1969 country blues! California Mudslide (And Earthquake) was Lightnin’ Hopkins’ last LP in his original run of long play releases...a strong slab of electric delta blues replete with sparse, signature acoustic guitar backing, augmented with organ and other surprises. The legend at his lonesomest—on Modern Harmonic!

"This album eschewed the trend to modernize by staying resolutely sparse and rural. All the tracks are original, one of its themes - especially the sleeve image, being mildly ecological and so relevant today…stellar sound quality, one of the unexpected benefits of the blues greats being rescued during their dotage. Haunting study, the Texas bluesman observing Southern California in the 1960s and yet sounding like it's the 1930s." - Ken Kessler, Hi-Fi News, September 2019, Sound Quality: 85%

• Root Beer colored vinyl
• Vinyl LP

Side One:

1. California Mudslide
2. Rosie Mae
3. Los Angeles Blues
4. Easy On Your Heels
5. New Santa Fe
6. Jesus, Would You Come By Here
Side Two:
1. No Education
2. Antoinette's Blues
3. Change My Way Of Living
4. Los Angeles Boogie
5. Call On My Baby

Customers Also Like