Lightnin' Hopkins Lightnin' Hopkins LP

Adding to cart… The item has been added
Reissued On Vinyl LP!
Remastered From Original LP Master Tapes!

Remastered from original LP Master Tapes in 1959 in Classic Folkways style tip-on jackets featuring original liner notes.

Texas bluesman Samuel "Lightnin'" Hopkins' musical career was reignited by this 1959 release. With the aid of a little gin and a borrowed acoustic guitar, musicologist Sam Charters recorded Hopkins in his tiny apartment in Houston, Texas. The result is nine tracks of pure country blues and Hopkins’ reminiscences of his time performing with Blind Lemon Jefferson.

This vinyl reissue is part of Folkways Records’ 70th anniversary celebration series, revisiting some of the most iconic and influential albums released on the record label.

• Vinyl LP
• Remastered From Original 1959 Master tapes
• Classic Folkways-style tip-on jackets
• Original liner notes

Side I:

1. Penitentiary Blues
2. Bad Luck And Trouble
3. Come Go Home With Me
4. Trouble Stay 'Way From My Door
5. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
Side II:
1. Goin' Back To Florida
2. Reminiscences Of Blind Lemon
3. Fan It
4. Tell Me, Baby
5. She's Mine

Customers Also Like