Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Yep Roc
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Los Lobos Colossal Head 180g LP

Los Lobos

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
1996 Album on 180g Vinyl!

Originally released in 1996, Colossal Head continues to represent the most adventurous time in the musical life of Los Lobos. Leaving their “La Bamba” days behind, the band still holds on to their traditional rock and blues roots with Colossal Head, experimenting with the rhythms and sounds of jazz, funk and lo-fi and seamlessly melding their classic sound with their new influences. “I think that we are the sole purveyors of what we do,” says the band’s Steve Berlin. “I don’t think that there is anyone else out there who sounds like us. I’m very proud of that.”

According to The New York Times, “The songs are about love and death, mobility and loyalty; mostly, however, they're about the way a groove can be both jubilant and ominous.” Recorded from start to finish in less than 6 weeks, the album leaves little room for wasted space, with each track as raw and smart as the next. “We had to boil everything down to its essence and that makes makes everything more experimental," says Berlin. "That’s what keeps it exciting.”

"The songs are about love and death, mobility and loyalty; mostly, however, they're about the way a groove can be both jubilant and ominous." -The New York Times

"Not only have they mastered their influences, they have fully assimilated them into their sound, creating their own, unique music. And that's far more interesting than simply regurgitating the same blues, rock, Mexican, and country licks." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

• 180g Vinyl

Side A:

1. Revolution
2. Mas y Mas
3. Maricela
4. Everybody Loves a Train
5. Can't Stop the Rain
6. Life Is Good
Side B:
1. Little Japan
2. Manny's Bones
3. Colossal Head
4. This Bird's Gonna Fly
5. Buddy Ebsen Loves the Night Time

Customers Also Like