Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Jack Teagarden Earl Hines
Format: 33RPM,


Louis Armstrong The Standard Oil Sessions Hand-Numbered Limited Edition LP

Louis Armstrong

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Hand-Numbered Limited Edition - 800 Copies!
Previously Unheard Recordings From Louis Armstrong's Personal Collection!
Restored & Remastered!

Recently Dot Time Records reached an agreement with the Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation to release four albums of previously unreleased music from the Louis Armstrong Collection. During the next two years these albums will be released on CD, Vinyl and Digital platforms.

During his lifetime Louis Armstrong amassed a huge collection of recordings. From live concerts to studio and broadcast recordings, the range is extensive. The majority of these recordings along with other Armstrong Artifacts are held in the Louis Armstrong Collection at Queens College in New York. The Louis Armstrong Legacy Series will bring a selection of these recordings from Louis's personal collection to the public for the first time ever. "Producing this music will mean people can connect again with the greatness of Louis Armstrong," said series producer Jerry Roche.

The first release in the series is titled The Standard Oil Sessions. Any list of the greatest trumpet, trombone and piano players in jazz history must include Louis Armstrong, Jack Teagarden and Earl "Fatha" Hines on those respective instruments. Those three towering figures performed together night in and night out for almost four full years as part of a Hall of Fame lineup edition of Louis Armstrong and His All Stars from 1948-1951. Because Armstrong was in the middle of recording a string of pop hits for Decca, there are few studio recordings of Armstrong, Teagarden and Hines together.

In January 20, 1950, Armstrong, Teagarden and Hines broke away from the All Stars to participate in a taping of a "Standard School Broadcast" in San Francisco. The show was part of a series sponsored by Standard Oil and featured the popular San Francisco-based guitarist and vocalist Clancy Hayes as "Jack-Of-All-Tunes" and Jack Cahill as "Matt the Mapmaker". Each episode focused on Hayes and Cahill putting together a "Musical Map of America", featuring the sounds of a different region. For reasons not known, the results were never broadcast on commercial radio but rather were edited and sent to schools to be used in classroom teaching. Armstrong, Teagarden and Hines recorded episode 19, "Musical Story of New Orleans", and Louis was personally given the acetate discs of the sessions.

"In this day and age of content overflow and regurgitated re-releases, to be able to hear music from Louis Armstrong that has never before seen the light of day is amazing. This series may be the most historically significant jazz release of the decade. I can't wait!" - Peter McLaren, Senior Writer, Jazz In Europe

"Louis amassed an incredible personal collection of concert recordings, nightclub broadcasts and other previously unissued gems that have eluded collectors and discographers for decades. Thanks to Dot Time Legends, Armstrong fans from around the world will finally be able to enjoy these treasures." - Ricky Riccardi, Director of Research Collections for the Louis Armstrong House Museum

• Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - Only 800 Copies
• Vinyl LP
• Previously unheard recordings
• Features Jack Teagarden and Earl Hines
• Transferred from Louis Armstrong's personal acetate discs of the complete recording session
• Edited and remastered by Lou Gimenez at The Music Lab, Elmont, NY
• Vinyl mastering by Caspar Sutton-Jones at Gearbox Records, London, UK
• Sleeve notes by Ricky Riccardi, Director of Research Collections for the Louis Armstrong House Museum

Louis Armstrong, trumpet, vocals
Jack Teagarden, trombone, vocals
Earl "Fatha" Hines, piano
Lyle Johnson, clarinet
Clancy Hayes, guitar
Bass & Drums: Unknown
Radio Hosts:
Clancy Hayes and (Jack Of All Tunes) Jack Cahill

Side One:

1. Do You Know What It Means
2. Basin St.
3. Way Down Yonder
4. Panama
5. Up The Lazy River
Side Two:
1. Muskrat Ramble
2. Struttin' WIth Some BBQ
3. Boogie Woogie
4. Back O Town

Originally recorded: January 20, 1950 in San Francisco, California

Customers Also Like