Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Mad Season Above 180g 2LP

Mad Season

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180 Gram Double Vinyl! Head-Clearing Heavy Blues On Their Lone Album! Includes 4 Previously Unreleased Tracks! Pressed at RTI!

Pearl Jam + Alice In Chains + Screaming Trees = Mad Season! The Lone Album from the Iconic Seattle Supergroup!

Mad Season consists of vocalist Layne Staley (Alice In Chains), guitarist Mike McCready (Pearl Jam), drummer/percussionist Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees) and bassist John Baker Saunders (The Walkabouts, Lamont Cranston Band). In 1994, the four Seattle-based musicians decided to embark on a side-project that took them into new and different musical territory. They made one seminal album in the history of Seattle rock. That album, Above was released in 1995 and immediately struck a resonate chord with the public that sent the album into gold status within a few weeks. It is the only complete album of Layne Staley's introspective and mystical lyrics, which were highlighted by additional vocals from Screaming Trees vocalist Mark Lanegan and Seattle-based saxophonist/percussionist Skerik.

Mad Season was essentially Seattle's version of an extremely heavy blues band, anchored by the deep swinging rhythm section of Barrett's drums and Baker's bass lines, with Layne's haunting melodies and Mike's stadium-size guitar riffs soaring over the top. This unusual chemistry made the band absolutely unique in an era of post-grunge. In the almost 20 years since the original release of Above, new generations of music listeners have discovered the dark and lasting beauty of Mad Season.

In 1996, work began on a second Mad Season album with Mike, Barrett and Baker writing and recording the basic tracks for 15 new songs. Unfortunately, because of declining health, Layne wasn't able to make any of the recording sessions and the album was shelved. Fate subsequently took each musician in a different direction: Mike back to Pearl Jam and Barrett back to Screaming Trees. Tragically, both Baker (1999) and Layne (2002) passed away.

This collection features songs from the unfinished second album with newly recorded vocals including "Locomotive" -- (Mark Lanegan takes the place of Staley on vocals)!

"The short-lived mid-Nineties grunge outfit Mad Season was as much therapy session as jam session: Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready met bassist John Baker Saunders in rehab, and recruited Alice in Chains singer Layne Staley in the hope that teaming with sober musicians might end Staley's heroin addiction. They played desultory, head-clearing heavy blues on their lone album... It's hard hearing Staley growl lines like, 'My pain is self-chosen/At least I believe it to be.' In a few years, both he and Saunders would be dead." - Jon Dolan, Rolling Stone

"[S]urviving Mad Season members... team with Lanegan to commemorate and revive one of the more unique projects from the waning days of the grunge era. Listening to the remastered Above, more than anything, pays reminder to just how distinctive a sound emerged from this pooling of eclectic musical personalities: the much older Saunders’ bluesman bass lines, Martin’s tribal-flavored percussion, Staley’s tortured vocals and phrasings, and guitarist McCready’s arena-rock bluster. It all somehow coalesced into this darkly beautiful grunge blues that holds sway... The chugging, hellhounds-on-my-trail 'Locomotive' pits Lanegan growling menacingly against Martin’s pounding, while leaving room for McCready’s most unleashed soloing since 'November Hotel'. 'Black Book of Fear' (co-written with Peter Buck) and 'Slip Away' allow Lanegan to adopt a calmer, reflective croon over warm arrangements that hint that Mad Season was poised to move away from Above’s sludgier blues numbers." - Matt Melis, Consequence Of Sound

• 180 Gram Double Vinyl
• Includes 4 Previously Unreleased Tracks
• Certified Gold Album
• Pressed at RTI
• Gatefold Jacket

Layne Staley, vocals, rhythm guitar
John Baker Saunders, bass
Barrett Martin, drums, percussion, double bass, cello, marimba, vibraphone
Mike McCready, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Skerik, additional personnel, saxophone
Mark Lanegan, additional personnel, vocals

LP1 - Side 1:

1. Wake Up
2. X-Ray Mind
3. River Of Deceit
LP1 - Side 2:
1. I'm Above
2. Artificial Red
3. Lifeless Dead
4. I Don't Know Anything
LP2 - Side 3:
1. Long Gone Day
2. November Hotel
3. All Alone
4. Interlude (previously unreleased)
5. Locomotive (previously unreleased)
LP2 - Side 4:
1. Black Book Of Fear (previously unreleased)
2. Slip Away (previously unreleased)
3. I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier (remix)

Customers Also Like