Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Anti
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Marc Ribot Songs of Resistance 1942-2018 2LP

Marc Ribot

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Coming September 2018 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Politically Charged Album On Double LP!

"Every movement which has ever won anything has had songs," says accomplished New York City guitarist Marc Ribot. For his new political album Songs of Resistance 1942-2018, Ribot set out to assemble a set of songs that spoke to this political moment with appropriate ambition, passion, and fury.

The eleven songs on the record include a few original compositions as well as traditional songs that are drawn from World War II anti-Fascist Italian partisans, the U.S. civil rights movement and Mexican protest ballads. It also features a wide range of guest vocalists, including Tom Waits, Steve Earle, Meshell Ndegeocello, Justin Vivian Bond, Fay Victor, Sam Amidon, and Ohene Cornelius, Tift Merritt, Domenica Fossati, Syd Straw.

At a time of such overwhelming social turmoil, finding a focus for this kind of project is challenging. Nevertheless, Ribot’s purpose remained clear. "There’s a lot of contradiction in doing any kind of political music," he says, "how to act against something without becoming it, without resembling what you detest. Sometimes it is hard to figure out what to do, and I imagine we’ll make mistakes, and hopefully, learn from them..."

• Double LP

Side A:

1. We Are Soldiers In the Army - with Fay Victor
2. Bella Ciao (Goodbye Beautiful) - with Tom Waits
3. Srinivas - with Tift Merritt
Side B:
4. How To Walk In Freedom - with Sam Amidon & Fay Victor
5. Rata de dos Patas - with Ohene Cornelius
6. The Militant Ecologist (based on Fischia II Vento) - with Meshell Ndegeocello
Side C:
1. The Big Fool
2. Ain't Gonna Let Them Turn Us Round - with Steve Earle & Tift Merritt
Side D:
3. John Brown - with Fay Victor
4. Knock That Statue Down - with Syd Straw
5. We'll Never Turn Back - with Justin Vivian Bond & Domenica Fossati

Customers Also Like