Genre: Reggae
Label: Trojan
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Bob Andy
Format: 33RPM,


Marcia Griffiths Essential Artist Collection: Marcia Griffiths 2LP (Transparent Green Vinyl)

Marcia Griffiths

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming May 12, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in-stock items will have all in-stock items shipped immediately!

Transparent Green Double Vinyl!

Arguably the greatest female singer in the history of Jamaican music, Marcia Griffiths first made her mark on the Jamaican music scene with a number of popular singles during the late Sixties, before finding international fame in 1970 alongside her long-term friend and sometime collaborator, Bob Andy. Bob & Marcia's uplifting reggae version of Nina Simone's inspiring song, '(To Be) Young, Gifted & Black' hit number 5 in the UK pop chart, the single proving to be the first of two British chartbusters, with their exuberant interpretation of Pied Piper' just missing out on a Top 10 placing the following year. Soon after, Marcia became a member of Bob Marley's famed backing group, the I-Threes, while also continuing to enjoy solo success with numerous Jamaican hits for a variety of record producers throughout the remainder of the Seventies and well beyond. This is the very best of her solo work that features on this 'Essential Artist' compilation, the latest release in Trojan Records' newly launched range that showcases the work of Jamaica's best-loved 'foundation' artists. Available as a 28-track double vinyl LP, this collection expertly demonstrates just why Marcia Griffiths is today widely regarded as a Jamaican legend.


  • Transparent Green Vinyl
  • Double Vinyl


LP 1

Side A:
  1. Hurtin' Inside
  2. We've Got to Get Ourselves Together - By Bob & Marcia
  3. Peaceful Woman
  4. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  5. Play Me
  6. Stepping Out of Babylon
  7. I See You, My Love
  8. Sweet Brown Sugar
Side B:
  1. Put a Little Love In Your Heart
  2. Survival (Is the Game)
  3. Pied Piper (w Bob Andy)
  4. Feel Like Jumping
  5. Tell Me Now
  6. Your Love (with Bob Andy)

LP 2

Side A:
  1. Dreamland (aka My Dream Island)
  2. Sweet Bitter Love
  3. Melody Life
  4. I Don't Care (with Bob Andy)
  5. Mark My Word
  6. I Just Don't Want to Be Lonely
  7. Truly
Side B:
  1. To Be Young Gifted and Black - By Bob & Marcia
  2. Working to the Top (My Ambition), Pt. 1
  3. But I Do (with Bob Andy)
  4. Sugar Wooga Man
  5. There's No Me Without You
  6. Don't Ever Leave
  7. You are Mine (with Bob Andy)

Customers Also Like