Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Afar
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Maria McKee La Vita Nuova 2LP

Maria McKee

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming March 13, 2020 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Former Lone Justice Singer On Double LP!

Ardent, anglophilic, anachronistic, luddite/maximalist and baroque, La Vita Nuova was written as an elegy to desire. Upon its completion it became a conjuring.

Candid and passionate, Maria McKee has quite simply had a beatific awakening and in a crescendo of prose, her new album La Vita Nuova unlocks this story, sketching out a momentous and transformative time in her life that started decades ago when she sang in her living room by the fire with her older brother, the late, great musical innovator Bryan MacLean, co-founder, (along with Arthur Lee), of the seminal LA band LOVE. Along the way she retooled punk and country as the lead singer of pioneering Americana band Lone Justice, released a string of evocative and eclectic solo records, wrote chart topping hits and inspired the devotion of a loyal cultish fan base before seemingly disappearing...

It's been thirteen years since her last studio album, Late December, which was released in 2007. La Vita Nuova is an homage to Dante's opus on unrequited love. Though the unconscious impetus for making this album was to process the shock of one of McKee's most prodigious personal challenges thus far, the dissolution and reinvention of her marriage, the songs are progressive and lyrically dense. The production is orchestral and operatic and takes it cues from McKee's lexicon of icons - John Cale, Scott Walker and David Bowie.

And so, it's a conversation that demands a level of deep concentration. One may need to listen more than once to connect with the confessional narrative that is held in subtext and to understand that within the lines of prose the "muse", or "Beatrice" of the album is also a heart-breaking phantom of McKee's younger, idealistic self. And a metaphor for youth in general. As reflected in the haunting, cascading melodic strains of the Joni Mitchell hinted "I Should Have Looked Away" and the poignant, nostalgic wistfulness of lead track "Effigy Of Salt".

McKee has also since moved to London. The album seems to herald this move as there are nods to Sandy Denny, Kate Bush and English composers and poets McKee admires such as Ralph Vaughn Williams, Keats and Swinburne whose work she had immersed herself in while writing the album. McKee's professed Spiritual Father, William Blake, is name checked on the track "Right Down To The Heart Of London", a love letter to the psychogeography of McKee's expatriate home. "Ceann Bró" was inspired by the astral projected liaisons between William Butler Yeats and Maud Gonne on the westernmost point of Ireland as McKee is an initiate of an occult lodge in the tradition of Yeats' and Gonne's The Hermetic Order of The Golden Dawn. The lyrics in "Page Of Cups" flirt with the "unexpected, surprising muse" figure in the minor Tarot arcana. The track recalls "Forever Changes"-era Love as does "I Just Want To Know That You're Alright". Both are heavily influenced by brother Bryan MacLean.

It would be easy to believe that La Vita Nuova indeed could have been "channelled" as McKee alludes to the songs descending "like manna from the throne" in the lyrics for "Courage". The nineteen-piece orchestral arrangements were composed and arranged by McKee who has had no formal classical training and doesn't read a note of music. But really that is the nature of creative catharsis which generally operates with a will of its own.


  • Double LP


Side A:

  1. Effigy Of Salt
  2. Page Of Cups
  3. Let Me Forget
  4. I Should Have Looked Away

Side B:

  1. Right Down To The Heart Of London
  2. La Vita Nuova
  3. Little Beast

Side C:

  1. Courage
  2. Ceann Bró
  3. The Last Boy

Side D:

  1. I Never Asked
  2. I Just Want To Know That You're Alright
  3. Weatherspace
  4. However Worn

Customers Also Like