Genre: Blues
Format: 45RPM,
Size: 12"


Marquise Knox Here I Am 200g 45rpm 2LP

Marquise Knox

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

200 Gram 45rpm Double Vinyl Pressed at Quality Record Pressings! Recorded Live-To-Two-Track!

Marquise Knox is a once-in-a-generation type of talent. And, man, are traditional blues lovers lucky he's decided to pursue straight-up real blues. Marquise has the voice, the songwriting talent, the guitar chops, the showmanship and the determination to very likely be a success in any number of styles of music. But for Marquise, it's nothing but the blues. Not the guitar hero, pyrotechnic licks blues. Not the gimmicky, tired, "Sweet Home Chicago" meets "Mustang Sally" predictable blues. No, Marquise almost seems to be literally channeling the certain-something energies and nuances of a Howlin' Wolf or Muddy Waters or Lightnin' Hopkins. In fact, when you listen to Marquise - 19 years old when he recorded this title - you get the sense that this is what those masters must have sounded like as young men. Marquise's blues are so transparent and bare. It's so easy to feel his music as totally legitimate. That's above all what makes it so appealing. That's what makes Marquise Knox special. He's the whole package. A throwback blues master on the rise. Anybody believe in reincarnation?

As you'd expect from somebody still so young, Marquise's talents have matured immeasurably since his 2009 APO debut, Man Child, recorded when he was 16. And that was a really good record. On Man Child, Marquise shared the guitar duties with Michael Burks, a fiercely explosive and powerful guitarist. For his next record, Marquise doesn't need the guitar help, and Here I Am doesn't want for even a little power and punch. Marquise's guitar skills have improved tenfold. Seriously. And his voice is, well, three years richer. To say that this record sounds unlike anything any other 19 year old is releasing in 2011 is undisputable. To say that it may be unlike anything anybody is releasing in 2011 might also be true.

When Man Child hit the market in 2009, blues lovers freaked out partly because of how young Marquise was to be sounding like such an aged veteran. Well, he's still awfully young, but this time around, the focus ought to be entirely on just how incredible a bluesman Marquise Knox is, age aside.

"...every note and every word sounds as if it's coming from deep within his heart... there can be little doubt about Knox himself: he's the real deal, and he can only get deeper and better with age." - David Whiteis, Living Blues, October 2011

"We have had the pleasure of having Marquise Knox's Here I Am release at our station for several months now in our current rotation. We really love it, a great disc that has been one of my personal favorites of the year." - Leroy Alvarez, Blues Music Director, WNMC 90.7 FM Traverse City, Michigan

• 45rpm 200g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Recorded Live-To-Two-Track at Blue Heaven Studios
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Gatefold Jacket

Marquise Knox, vocals, guitar, harmonica
Wayne Sharp, Hammond C3 organ, piano
Eugene Johnson, bass
Mike Battle, drums

LP1 - Side One:
1. Here I Am
2. You Better Pray
3. Two Can Play Your Game
LP1 - Side Two:
1. Tears Feel Like Rain
2. Feel Like Goin' Home
LP2 - Side Three:
1. America's Blues
2. Coming For Your Loving
3. Can A Young Man Play The Blues?
LP2 - Side Four:
1. Love Me Through The Pain
2. I Can't Be Satisfied
3. I'm Bad
4. Two Trains Running

Customers Also Like